STATE COLLEGE, PA - OCTOBER 05: KJ Hamler #1 of the Penn State Nittany Lions celebrates after catching a pass for a touchdown against the Purdue Boilermakers during the first half at Beaver Stadium on October 5, 2019 in State College, Pennsylvania. (Photo by Scott Taetsch/Getty Images)
Photo: Scott Taetsch/Getty Images
Photo: Scott Taetsch/Getty Images

NFL Draft: The effect of early entries on Ohio State’s schedule

The NFL published the list of players “granted special eligibility for the 2020 Draft” on Tuesday, making those who are done with college despite have college eligibility remaining official. 

The list includes three players who spent three seasons at Ohio State — defensive end Chase Young, cornerback Jeffrey Okduah and running back J.K. Dobbins — who announced they would not be back in Columbus next fall. 

>>RELATED: Numbers to know from the 2019 season 

Also of note: Fairfield High School grad Josiah Scott left Michigan State along with Spartans receiver Cody White while Michigan lost pass-rusher Josh Uche, receiver Donovan Peoples-Jones and center Cesar Ruiz. 

A pair of players from Penn State left early — standout receiver K.J. Hamler and talented pass-rusher Yetur Gross-Matos, while Iowa lost four players who had eligibility remaining — running back Toren Young, offensive lineman defensive end A.J. Epenesa and safety Geno Stone. 

The Hawkeyes rotate onto Ohio State’s schedule this season after not facing the Buckeyes the past two years. 

>>MUSINGS: Joe Burrow’s legacy, the national championship game and who the Bengals should draft

Maryland lost the dangerous running back duo of Javon Leake and Anthony McFarland while Rutgers lost defensive end Elorm Lumor and Illinois lost defensive end Oluwole Beitku. 

Wisconsin is not on Ohio State’s regular season schedule, but if the Buckeyes and Badgers meet in the Big Ten Championship game again the defending West division champions won’t have running back Jonathan Taylor, receiver Quintez Cephus and center Tyler Biadasz. 

For those with an eye on potential College Football Playoff matchups, Clemson lost three players (including Butkus Award-winning linebacker Isaiah Simmons and stud receiver Tee Higgins but not standout running back Travis Etienne) and Alabama lost six players, including quarterback Tua Tagovailoa, receivers Jerry Jeudy and Henry Ruggs and defensive back Xavier McKinney. 

Defending national champion LSU has a whopping nine players leave with eligibility remaining, including star defensive back Grant Delpit and standout running back Clyde Edwards-Helaire. 

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.