Obi One? Dayton announces player numbers for 2018-19 season

Toppin seems to be embracing the “Star Wars” nickname with his choice

The Dayton Flyers men's basketball roster was updated on the UD website Friday, displaying uniform numbers for some players for the first time.

Redshirt freshman forward Obadiah Toppin, who was No. 12 last season, will wear No. 1, which Darrell Davis wore the last four seasons. Toppin appears to be fully embracing the “Obi One” nickname with his choice. He wore the same number in high school.

» UD COVERAGE: NBA Summer League update | Watch video of Flyers in action

Freshman forward Frankie Policelli will wear No. 2, which he wore last season at Long Island Lutheran High School. That was most recently worn by Sam Miller in the 2016-17 season.

Junior guard Jhery Matos will wear No. 31, which hasn’t been worn by a Dayton player since at least 2003-04. Matos wore No. 3 last season at Monroe College.

Freshman guard Dwayne Cohill will wear No. 35, which was last worn by Matt Kavanaugh in 2013-14. Cohill wore the same number at Holy Name High School.

All the returning players keep the same number. Michigan transfer Ibi Watson and Chattanooga transfer Rodney Chatman, both of whom will sit out this season, have not been issued numbers.

About the Author