HS Roundup 10/15: Boys soccer tourney; CBC, CCC All-Conference awards

Boys Soccer

Sectional Tournament

Alter 14, Trotwood 0: Dominic Ruffolo poured in four goals and Gavin Battaglia tacked on two goals with an assist to help Alter open sectional play with a win.

Bellefontaine 8, Indian Lake 0: Daunte George and Dominic Patton paced Bellefontaine with a pair of goals apiece.

Bethel 8, Carlisle 0: Cannon Dakin drove in three scores and Sam Sortman added two more to lead Bethel.

Carroll 4, Belmont 0: Conner Bailey, Conner Osterholt, Erick Vazquez and Sean Dosedel each scored a goal for unbeaten Carroll.

New Knoxville 6, Temple Christian 1: Patrick Covert scored three goals and Jose Rabadan knocked in two more to lead New Knoxville.

Sidney 3, Fairborn 2: Sidney netted the game-winner in overtime to edge Fairborn.

Girls Soccer

Cross County Conference All-Conference Team: Bethel’s Darani Wenrick was tabbed as the player of the year and Dru Bescoe the coach of the year. Natalie Moorman and Machaela Staggs joined Wenrick on the first team for Bethel. Miami East (Emily Adkins, Cerstin Gross, Whitley Gross, Savannah Nehring) had four players and Twin Valley South (Allison Bassler, Makiah Newport, Kassidy Whaley) three players make the first team squad.

Girls Volleyball

Central Buckeye Conference All-Conference Team: Sarah VanDyke of Ben Logan and Lexee Trainer of Kenton Ridge were picked for players of the year for their respective divisions. Bailey Shope joined VanDyke on the first team for Ben Logan and Mikala Morris joined Trainer on the first team for Kenton Ridge. Other area notables on the Mad River first team included Graham’s Aislen Setty, Northwestern’s Kyndall Berner and Urbana’s Taylor Adams. Also making the first team in the Kenton Trail were Paree Furness of Springfield Shawnee and Ava Ehlinger of Tecumseh.

Cross County Conference All-Conference Team: Arcanum’s Camille Pohl and Macey O’Dell were picked for player and coach of the year. Taylor Gray and Audrey Heiser also made the first team for Arcanum. Lydia Conley, Gabrielle Hawkins and Sophia Jacomet were picked to the first team for Miami East and Corinna Conley and Brigette Filbrun made first team for Franklin Monroe.

Cross Country

Central Buckeye Conference All-Conference Teams: Bryson Tipton of Ben Logan and Gavin Frick of Jonathan Alder were picked as boys runners of the year for their respective divisions. Kassidy Carpenter of Northwestern and Audrey DeSantis of Springfield Shawnee were picked as girls runners of the year.

About the Author