The Basketball Tournament chooses new location, dates

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Combined ShapeCaption
Dayton alumni team wins 108-82 at Capital University

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

The Basketball Tournament will play all its games at Nationwide Arena from July 4-14, it announced Thursday. Fans will not be allowed to attend the games.

» LOOKING BACK: Red Scare advances in dramatic fashion

All 23 games will be televised on the ESPN network. Teams and staff will arrive five days before the tournament begins and undergo multiple rounds of COVID-19 testing.

“Once underway, a single positive test by a team member would result in the removal of the entire team,” a press release read.

The event, which will award $1 million to the winner, planned to hold its final three rounds at UD Arena. Plans changed because of the coronavirus pandemic.

“Being the first basketball event to play in the U.S. since mid-March is a monumental task that is only possible with great partners,” said TBT founder and CEO Jon Mugar in a press release. “We can’t thank the State of Ohio, Columbus Sports Commission or The Ohio State University enough for helping guide us. We also wouldn’t be here without ESPN, Puma, and Zelle. Everyone is unified in wanting to see athletes out there having fun again, and our players can’t wait to compete.”

» MORE ON RED SCARE: How the team came together in 2019

Dayton’s alumni team, the Red Scare, is expected to be one of 24 teams in the field. The official field has not been announced. More than 120 teams applied. The bracket will be unveiled Tuesday.

The Red Scare is managed by former UD walk-ons Jeremiah Bonsu and Joey Gruden. The team added a second non-Flyer to the roster on Monday: former Virginia Commonwealth forward Justin Tillman.

Tillman joins a team that includes former Flyers Rob Lowery, Trey Landers, Ryan Mikesell, Devin Oliver, Dyshawn Pierre, Darrell Davis, Kendall Pollard and Kyle Davis. Former Louisville guard Ryan McMahon will also play for the team.

About the Author