Trotwood, Alter each land 3 first team All-Ohioans

See Scoreboard for All-Ohio teams

Three Trotwood-Madison and Alter standouts in addition to three other area players were named first team All-Ohio high school football by the Associated Press on Tuesday.

Making the Division III first team were Trotwood running back Raveion Hargrove, defensive lineman Devon Smith and linebacker Kobe Vinegar. Joining the Rams on the D-III first team was Piqua offensive lineman Nate Monnin.

Chosen to the D-IV first team were Alter offensive lineman Nick Busher, linebacker David Rueth and defensive back Kyle Roshong. Also on the D-IV first team were Dunbar running back Tavion Thomas and Clinton-Massie defensive lineman Trey Uetrecht.

It was the second straight year Hargrove, a 5-foot-7, 165-pound junior, has been chosen to the first team. He’s helped carry Trotwood (12-2) into the D-III state championship game on Saturday against defending state champ Akron Archbishop Hoban (13-1) at Ohio Stadium in Columbus.

Hargrove has gained 1,562 yards in 162 carries (9.6 average) and scored 21 touchdowns despite missing two games and most of another with injury. Last season he recorded an all-time area best 3,039 yards rushing and scored 41 touchdowns.

Vinegar was the D-III Southwest District defensive player of the year and leads the Rams in solo tackles (76) and assists (63). Smith has 112 total tackles, seven sacks and four fumble recoveries.

Rueth and Roshong also were among Alter’s leaders in total tackles. Rueth had two interceptions and one fumble recovery. Roshong had two interceptions. Alter (13-1) suffered its only loss in last week’s D-IV state semifinals, 14-7 to Columbus Bishop Hartley at London.

The D-III players of the year were Toledo Central Catholic running back Michael Warren (offensive) and Columbus Beechcroft lineman Aarin Smoot-Baker (defensive). Marques Hayes of Akron East was the D-III coach of the year.

The D-IV players of the year were Mantua Crestwood running back Logan Thut and Perry defensive back Andy Foley. Heath’s Mark Collier was the D-IV coach of the year.

The All-Ohio Division I and II teams were released Monday. The Divisions V and VI teams will be released today and Division VII and Mr. Football announced Thursday. The teams were based on coaches’ nominations, compiled by statewide district media groups and forwarded to the Associated Press.