Trotwood-Madison earns top D-III All-Ohio football honors

Trotwood-Madison football coach Jeff Graham and Rams running back Ra’veion Hargrove captured top All-Ohio high school football Division III honors from the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association on Tuesday.

Graham was honored as the state’s D-III coach of the year and Hargrove the D-III co-offensive player of the year.

Other D-III first-team picks were Dunbar teammates Tavion Thomas and Joseph Scates, linemen Alex Mumy of Bellbrook and Kennedy Coates of Trotwood and Piqua’s Ben Schmiesing. Sidney teammates Isaiah Bowser and Devan Rogers were All-Ohio D-II first-team selections, as was Belmont’s Ja’don Furlow.

»MR. FOOTBALL: Trotwood’s Ra’veion Hargrove runner-up

»MIGHTY PACKAGE: Hargrove carries Trotwood into D-III state final

»GROUNDED: No beating Clinton-Massie’s wishbone offense

»PUBLIC vs. PRIVATE: OHSAA’s competitive balance makes an impact

»PHOTO GALLERY: Trotwood-Madison vs. Toledo Central Catholic

»D-IV ALL-OHIO: Valley View, Versailles earn top honors

»PLAYER OF YEAR: Fort Recovery RB Will Homan takes D-VI honor

»SEMI SHOWDOWN: Trotwood-Madison defeats Toledo CC

»FINALS FOUR: Trotwood, Massie, Marion Local, Minster

»MAKING A DIFFERENCE: Trotwood-Madison focused on the positive

»MIKE AND MARC: The boys talk playoff football

»STATE POLL CHAMPS: Trotwood-Madison, Marion Local No. 1 in football

»RELATED: Top 7 all-time, Dayton-area football players

Graham has guided Trotwood (14-0) back to its second straight appearance in the D-III state championship this weekend. An Alter grad and former standout Ohio State and NFL receiver, he’s in his fourth season as the Rams’ coach.

Graham’s success has coincided with Hargrove’s stellar career. A senior, Hargrove has amassed more than 7,000 rushing yards and ranks among the state’s all-time top 10 rushers. He has more than 2,000 yards rushing this season. He de-committed from Bowling Green earlier this month. A Mr. Football nominee, Hargrove shared the D-III offensive player of the year honor with Ja’Vez Alexander of Sandusky.

Coates, a junior defensive lineman, anchors Trotwood’s defense.

Thomas and Scates, both seniors, led Dunbar (8-4) into the D-III, Region 12 semifinals, falling to Trotwood. Committed to Oklahoma, Thomas rushed for 1,663 yards and scored 24 touchdowns during the regular season. A receiver, Scates totaled 1,044 all-purpose yards. His 25 catches in the regular season produced 590 yards (24.2 per catch) and 11 touchdowns.

Alabama is among the programs to have offered the uncommitted Scates. He has been invited to the Offense-Defense All-American Bowl at New Orleans on Dec. 30.

A senior offensive lineman, Mumy led Bellbrook to a 7-3 season. A senior outside linebacker at Piqua, Schmiesing is a preferred walk-on at OSU.

Sidney (10-2) reached the D-II, Region 8 semifinals behind Bowser, the area’s leading rusher the last two seasons. The senior set Sidney single-season records for rushing yards (2,617), carries (327) and touchdowns (32). He’s committed to Northwestern.

Rogers anchored Sidney’s defensive line. He’s committed to Bowling Green.

Furlow helped Belmont go 9-0 in the regular season and allow nine points. The cornerback is committed to Miami University. Sidney defeated Belmont in a D-II, Region 8 playoff opener.

Media panels throughout the state voted on All-Ohio nominations, which were forwarded to OPSWA. The Division I All-Ohio teams and Mr. Football were announced Wednesday. All the All-Ohio teams were released by the Ohio High School Athletic Association and previously were coordinated by the Associated Press.

About the Author