Stuck at home? Check out these e-books by Dayton-area authors

Dayton native Mindee Arnett has two new releases this year.

caption arrowCaption
Dayton native Mindee Arnett has two new releases this year.

Now might be a great time to explore checking out e-books if you haven’t already, and try local authors. I’m excited to share a list of Dayton-area authors with e-books in the Dayton Metro Library system.

(Please note: there are many other Dayton-area authors who have print books, such as poets, or whose books are not available as ebooks at this time. Additionally, I only checked the Dayton Metro Library system, so other area authors, and other titles, may well be available in other library systems.)

>> LOOKING BACK: Photos of Dayton’s red carpet night at the 2019 Art Ball

Where available, I’ve also included the authors’ websites, so you can learn more about them and their work.

Here you go — happy reading!

>> RELATED: How local libraries are offering eBooks and learning resources while schools are closed

caption arrowCaption
Cartoonist Cathy Guisewite will appear at Books & Co. at The Greene on Saturday, April 6 at 2 p.m. CONTRIBUTED

Cartoonist Cathy Guisewite will appear at Books & Co. at The Greene on Saturday, April 6 at 2 p.m. CONTRIBUTED

caption arrowCaption
Cartoonist Cathy Guisewite will appear at Books & Co. at The Greene on Saturday, April 6 at 2 p.m. CONTRIBUTED

• Mindee Arnett (www.mindeearnett.com), young adult fantasy, science fiction and horror — "The Nightmare Affair," "Shadow & Flame," "Avalon."

• Heather Blake (www.heatherblakebooks.com), mysteries — "A Witch Before Dying," "It Takes a Witch," "Ghost of a Potion."

• Molly D. Campbell (mollydcampbell.com), literary — "Crossing the Street."

• Linda Castillo (www.lindacastillo.com), mystery — "Shamed," "A Gathering of Secrets," "In Dark Company."

• Allison Dickson (www.allisonmdickson.com), domestic thriller — "The Other Mrs. Miller."

>> RELATED: New normal? John Scalzi, famous local sci-fi author, predicts changes we may see post-pandemic

• Erin Flanagan (erinflanagan.net), short story collection — "It's Not Going To Kill You."

• Tim Gaffney (www.goodreads.com/author/show/83785.Timothy_R_Gaffney), nonfiction and history — "Dayton Beer: a history of brewing in the Miami Valley."

• Cathy Guisewite (www.Cathyguisewite.com), humorous essays — "Fifty Things That Aren't My Fault: Essays From the Grown-Up Years."

• Kameron Hurley (www.kameronhurley.com), science fiction — "The Mirror Empire," "Empire Ascendant," "The Light Brigade," "The Stars Are Legion."

• Simon Jacobs (www.simon-jacobs.com), literary dystopian — "Palaces."

caption arrowCaption
Katrina Kittle will lead a NaNoWriMo prep session through Word’s Worth Writing Center. CONTRIBUTED

Katrina Kittle will lead a NaNoWriMo prep session through Word’s Worth Writing Center. CONTRIBUTED

caption arrowCaption
Katrina Kittle will lead a NaNoWriMo prep session through Word’s Worth Writing Center. CONTRIBUTED

• Katrina Kittle (www.katrinakittle.com), adult literary and young adult — "Reasons to Be Happy" (young adult), "Traveling Light," "The Kindness of Strangers," "Reasons to Be Happy," and "Two Truths and a Lie."

• Lorie Langdon (www.lorielangdon.com), young adult novels — "Olivia Twist," "Doon," "Shades of Doon," "Forever Doon," "Destined for Doon."

• Nita Leland (nitaleland.com), nonfiction how-to books on art — "New Creative Collage Techniques: A Step-by-Step Guide to Making Original Art Using Paper, Color and Texture: 60 Projects, 62 Artists."

• Jessica Lemmon (www.jessicalemmon.com), romance — "Fighting for Devlin," "Can't Let Go," and numerous other romance novels.

• Kristina McBride (www.kristinamcbride.com), young adult — "One Moment," "The Bakersville Dozen," "A Million Times Goodnight."

• Jess Montgomery (www.jessmontgomeryauthor.com), historical mysteries — "The Widows." (Full disclosure: this is yours truly's pen name!)

• Rachel Eve Moulton (www.rachelevemoulton.com), literary horror – "Tinfoil Butterfly."

• M. Ruth Myers (mruthmyers.com), historical mysteries — "Tough Cookie," "A Touch of Magic," "No Game for a Dame," "Maximum Moxie."

• Leslie Nagel (www.leslienagel.com), mysteries — "The Antique House Murders," "The Advice Column Murders," "The Codebook Murders," "Book Club Murders."

• Helen Klein Ross (www.helenkleinnross.com), literary fiction — "The Latecomers," "What Was Mine."

• Moriel Rothman-Zecher (thelefternwall.com), literary fiction — "Sadness is a White Bird."

• Andrew Seiple, fantasy — “Threadbare.”

caption arrowCaption
Sci-fi writer John Scalzi has landed a major publishing contract. CONTRIBUTED

Credit: HANDOUT

Sci-fi writer John Scalzi has landed a major publishing contract. CONTRIBUTED

Credit: HANDOUT

caption arrowCaption
Sci-fi writer John Scalzi has landed a major publishing contract. CONTRIBUTED

Credit: HANDOUT

Credit: HANDOUT

• John Scalzi (whatever.scalzi.com), science fiction — "The Consuming Fire," "Zoe's Tale," "Redshirts," "Agent to the Stars."

• Sharon Short (www.sharonshort.com), humorous mysteries — "Death of a Domestic Diva," "Death by Deep Dish Pie," "Death in the Cards," and others.

• Joanne Smith (www.13thgift.com), memoir — "The 13th Gift: A True Story of a Christmas Miracle."

• Jessica Strawser (www.jessicastrawser.com), domestic thrillers — "Not That I Could Tell," "Almost Missed You," "Forget You Know Me."

• T.J. Turner (www.tjturnerauthor.com), alternative historical fiction — "Lincoln's Bodyguard."

• Tim Waggoner (www.timwaggoner.com), science fiction and horror — "Dream Stalkers," "Grimm: The Killing Time," "Resident Evil," "The Final Chapter: The Official Movie Novelization."

• Andrew Walsh, (www.andrewjwalsh.com), local history — "Lost Dayton, Ohio."

• Ann Weisgarber, (annweisgarber.com), literary historical — "The Glovemaker," "The Personal History of Rachel DuPree," "The Promise."

About the Author