AP: Dayton area statehouse incumbents win reelection by big margins

Voters in several Dayton area Ohio Statehouse districts were casting ballots in this year’s general election. FILE
Voters in several Dayton area Ohio Statehouse districts were casting ballots in this year’s general election. FILE

Credit: FILE

Credit: FILE

Local Ohio House of Representative incumbents retained their seats, the Associated Press declared Tuesday night.

Republican state Rep. Phil Plummer won big over Democrat Leronda Jackson in the race for the 40th District seat.

Plummer, a former Montgomery County sheriff, was reelected to a second term.

“It tells me that the voters still have confidence in me and I appreciate their support,” Plummer told the Dayton Daily News.

The district covers Northeast Dayton, as well as Butler Twp., Englewood, Huber Heights, Phillipsburg, Union, Vandalia, Verona, Wayne Twp. and portions of Clayton, Clay Twp., Harrison Twp. and Riverside.

Also with large leads were Warren County incumbents state Rep. Scott Lipps and state Rep. Paul Zeltwanger, and state Rep. Jena Powell in Miami and Darke counties, according to tallies from those areas.

In a race to succeed state Rep. Fred Strahorn in the 39th Ohio House District, Willis Blackshear Jr. won by large margin over John Ferrell Mullins III.

Strahorn, a Democrat who has served four consecutive terms, has reached his term limit for the district that covers large sections of Dayton, Drexel and Jefferson Twp.

In other races:

•Greene County voters chose a new state representative for the 73rd District.

With 90 of 95 precincts reporting, Republican Brian Lampton leads over Democrat Kim McCarthy, according to the Greene County Board of Elections.

Lampton has about 57.35% to McCarthy’s 42.65%, records show.

The winner will replace Republican Rick Perales in the district that covers a large portion of Greene County from Bellbrook to Yellow Springs.

•In Warren County, Lipps defeated Democratic challenger Erin Rosiello in Ohio House District 62, results show.

Lipps is in his second two-year term representing the district including the Franklin, Hamilton Twp. and Morrow areas in Warren County.

•Also in Warren County, Zeltwanger won over challenger Morgan Showen with all 80 precincts reporting Tuesday night.

The winner will represent residents living in and around Lebanon, Deerfield Township, Mason and Middletown.

•In an open seat in Preble County, Preble County Commissioner Rodney Creech won against former Richmond High School science teacher Amy Cox for the Ohio House 43rd District seat.

Creech holds a 55% to 45% edge with all 42 precincts reporting, according to that elections board.

Both are vying to fill the seat now held by Republican Jeffery Todd Smith of Farmersville.

The district covers all of Preble County and areas of Montgomery County including Englewood, Clayton, Brookville and Trotwood.

•North of Dayton, Powell won against Piqua Democrat Ted Jones to win reelection in the 80th District Miami and southern Darke counties.

With 81 of 85 precincts reporting, Powell — a Republican from Arcanum — held a 74.04% to 25.96% lead, according to the Miami County Board of Elections.

All of these results are expected to change as more ballots are counted through Nov. 18. We will continue to update these results as more ballots are counted.

ExploreLIVE UPDATES: Interactive map of state-by-state presidential votes"