DeWine’s roadway ‘state of emergency’ puts 4 area counties in line for funding 

>> RELATED: Pothole on I-75 South ramp causing flats

>> RELATED: Hit a pothole? Here’s how to get paid

>> RELATED: Potholes on US. 35 in Dayton causing problems

The declaration means the Ohio Department of Transportation and local governments can access federal emergency relief funds, the governor said in a prepared statement released Wednesday afternoon. 

Some roadways still have lane restrictions or are closed, he said. 

"Many of these roads are in dangerous condition, impacting the safety of Ohio's drivers," Gov. DeWine said. 

Access to federal funding will allow affected counties to get monetary help with the unplanned costs to repair the highways damaged by heavy rain and flooding, he said. 

The counties included in the proclamation include: 

Adams, Athens, Belmont, Brown, Butler, Carroll, Clermont, Clinton, Columbiana, Coshocton, Gallia, Greene, Guernsey, Hamilton, Harrison, Highland, Hocking, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Knox, Lawrence, Licking, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble, Perry, Pike, Preble, Ross, Scioto, Tuscarawas, Vinton, Warren and Washington

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.