Polling sites changed for thousands of Montgomery County voters

Polling locations have changed for thousands of Montgomery County voters, according to the elections board.

Just under 6,000 Montgomery County Voters will soon receive postcards from the Montgomery County Board of Elections informing them of new voting sites for the March Primary Election.

RELATED: Millions spent to safeguard Ohio elections: What’s really going on

Five locations are moving to new addresses. The move affects 11 precincts and certain voters in Clayton, Dayton, Kettering, Moraine, Oakwood and Riverside.

The affected polling locations and precincts include:

  • Memorial Presbyterian Church, 1541 S Smithville Rd, Dayton, Dayton Precincts 10-A and 10-C will move to The Southeast Metro Library, 21 Watervliet Ave., Dayton.
  • Voters who previously cast ballots at Covenant Baptist Church, 3424 Old Salem Road in Dayton, will be divided among two new locations. Clayton Precinct 2-A will shift to Happy Corner Church, 7037 Union Road, Clayton. Clayton precinct 2-B will be added to Crestview Baptist Church, 6600 Salem Ave., Clayton.
  • Southdale Elementary School, 1200 W. Dorothy Lane, Kettering, will be divided among two new locations. Kettering Precinct 4-H will be moved to The Michael Soloman Pavilion at Community Golf Course, 2917 Berkley St., Kettering. Moraine Precinct 4-A will be moved into the Payne Recreation Center, 3800 Main St., Moraine.
  • St. Albert the Great, 3033 Far Hills Ave., Kettering, will be divided among three new locations. Oakwood Precincts A and B are being moved the Oakwood Community Center Teen Center, 105 Patterson Road, Oakwood. Oakwood Precinct F is being added to Edwin Smith School, 1701 Shafor Blvd., Oakwood. Oakwood Precinct G will be moved to the Oakwood Municipal Building, 30 Park Ave., Oakwood.
  • Wright-Patterson Air Force Base Chapel #3, 6568 Chapel Ln, Riverside, the Page Manor precinct will be moved to the Stebbins High school Activity Center, 1900 Harshman Road, Riverside.

The Memorial Day tornado outbreak forced the relocation of two polling locations in Montgomery County for the last election in November and the new locations will remain unchanged, said Jan Kelly, director of the Montgomery County Board of Elections.

Voters moved from the New Life Worship Center in Butler Twp. and the North Wesleyan Center in Harrison Twp. will continue voting at the Hopeland Church at 6025 Miller Lane, Vandalia and at the Teamsters Hall 957 at 2719 Armstrong Lane, Harrison Twp.

Early voting has already started for the March 17 primary election that will help determine local tax levies, the makeup of county governments, who’s on the ballot for Congressional and Statehouse seats in November and the Democratic nominee for president.


Voters who want to get their ballots in before primary Election Day on March 17 can vote absentee by mail or in person at their county board of elections offices.

The deadline to request absentee mail ballots is three days before the election, or March 14. Absentee ballots must be signed. Absentee ballots that are mailed must be postmarked by the day before the election to be counted, or they can be returned in-person at the county board of elections before polls close at 7:30 p.m. on Election Day. (Do not take the ballot to a polling place.)

Early voting hours are the same in all counties:

‒ 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. on weekdays from Wednesday to March 6

‒ 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, March 7

‒ 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. from Monday, March 9, to Friday, March 13

‒ 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Saturday, March 14

‒ 1 to 5 p.m. Sunday, March 15

‒ 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Monday, March 16

About the Author