Ohio can have up to 40 medical marijuana shops under proposed rules

marijuana

caption arrowCaption
marijuana

Doctors who recommend marijuana to patients would need additional training.

Ohio may have as many as 40 medical marijuana shops and additional sites could be added under rules proposed Thursday by the Ohio pharmacy board

Licensed dispensary owners would pay a $5,000 application fee and an $80,000 license fee every two years.

ExploreRELATED: How will medical marijuana work in Ohio?

Dispensaries could be added based on:

* State population growth

* Patient population growth

* Geographic distribution of dispensary sites, to ensure patient access.

FACEBOOK: Laura Bischoff has covered this issue for years. Follow her for the latest updates

Another board is recommending that doctors who OK marijuana for patients have to have an active, unrestricted license to practice medicine and surgery or osteopathic medicine.

The State Medical Board is also proposing rules requiring two hours of continuing education classes about medical marijuana for doctors.

RELATED: Ohio to license 18 medical marijuana growers

The Ohio Medical Marijuana Advisory Committee created by the medical marijuana law that took effect Sept. 8 must approve the rules.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

About the Author