5 things to know about Tuesday’s election to replace John Boehner

On March 15, Miami County Republican Warren Davidson won a highly competitive special primary to emerge as the party’s nominee for today’s special election to elect a new 8th Congressional District representative. Butler County Democrat Corey Foister and Green Party candidate Jim Condit Jr., of Cincinnati, were in uncontested races.

5 things you need to know about today’s special congressional election

1. Why there is a special election

Unlike a Statehouse seat, a partisan appointment cannot be made to fill a congressional seat. So when John Boehner resigned in October 2015, a special primary and election were set to fill that unexpired term.

2. Who the election impacts

Residents in Butler, Clark, Darke, Miami and Preble counties as well as the southern portion of Mercer County are represented by Ohio’s 8th Congressional District.

The district includes more than 723,000 residents and stretches from the shores of Grand Lake St. Mary’s on the northern edge of Interstate 270 to just north of the Interstate 275 loop.

3. When and where to vote

Polls are open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. today. Registered voters must cast ballots at their assigned precincts.

For more information, visit MyOhioVote.com.

4. Low voter turnout

Only a fraction of the residents of the 8th Congressional District will vote today.

During the past three years, 108 elections were decided by one vote or were tied, according to the Ohio Secretary of State’s office.

The district is highly Republican, but Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted told this news outlet last week, “You can’t assume anything when you have low voter turnout. When you have low voter turnout, your vote is more important. You have a bigger impact.”

5. It’s not over after today

While this special election will decide who will succeed Boehner in Congress by filling his unexpired term, there is still the matter of electing a congressman in November for the full two-year term.

Davidson and Foister will be on that ballot. Condit Jr., however, is ineligible after he voted in the Republican primary, not Green, in March.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.