Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine names new State Fire Marshal

Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine announced Thursday that he was appointing Kevin S. Reardon as the 39th State Fire Marshal.

The prior State Fire Marshal, Jeff A. Hussey, stepped down on March 13.

>>Ohio's State Fire Marshal steps down

The Interim State Fire Marshal William Spurgeon will be leaving the Department of Commerce to pursue a new career opportunity in his hometown of Newark.

Before being appointed, Reardon spent almost six years as director of the Central Ohio Technical College Institute for Public Service & Safety, and also has served on the Ohio Board of Building Standards, according to a release from the Ohio Department of Commerce.

The ODC said that Reardon began his fire service career in 1981 with the Columbus Division of Fire, retiring in 2013 as a battalion chief. Meanwhile, he spent 10 years as DeWine’s military and veterans’ affairs liaison and four years as homeland security manager for Battelle.

DeWine said, “We’re proud to have Kevin join our team as the State Fire Marshal, given his many years serving in the fire service, the public sector, and in higher education. The Division of State Fire Marshal is extremely important in the lives of all Ohioans. Kevin’s leadership will help us move programs and initiatives forward that help protect Ohioans and their communities.”

A swearing-in ceremony for Reardon will be conducted at a later date.

About the Author