Striking views: Take a drone tour of the University of Dayton campus and its landmarks

St. Mary’s School for Boys, the foundation of the University of Dayton, opened July 1, 1850. Over the years, the institution has been known as St. Mary’s School, St. Mary’s Institute and St. Mary’s College. Its name became the University of Dayton in 1920.

Over the years, the campus has built some of the most beautiful and recognizable views in the city. Watch the video above for an aerial tour of the campus and its best scenes.

The iconic dome and cross on the Chapel of the Immaculate Conception is the centerpiece of UD’s campus. The top of the cross is 95 feet above the ground. The cross is 7 feet, 4 inches tall from the ball to the top of the cross. The “arms” of the cross extend 4 feet, 6 inches.

RELATED: The major UD Arena renovation is now changing the outside of the building

The once-modest campus has now grown to include almost 400 acres. This land includes the purchase of more than 160 acres of former NCR property, which sparked the building of the GE Episcenter and Emerson Helix buildings.

UD has 38 academic, research, athletic and administrative buildings, five residence halls, 18 student apartment complexes and almost 500 residences. Total enrollment for 2018-19 is almost 11,000 students.

RELATED: Early vision for former fairgrounds released

The former NCR headquarters building is now Daniel J. Curran Place, named in honor of the first lay president of UD, who served from 2002-16. The building is home to the University of Dayton Research Institute and features a large solar array for generating electricity.

About the Authors