Coldwater, Marion Local trios first team All-Ohio

Coldwater and Marion Local, Midwest Athletic Conference powers that will play for state championships this weekend, each placed three members on All-Ohio teams released by the Associated Press on Wednesday.

Coldwater senior receiver Neal Muhlenkamp, senior quarterback Dylan Thobe and senior defensive lineman Andrew Siefring were selected to the Division V first team. Marion Local was represented on the D-VI first team by senior offensive lineman Luke Moorman, senior defensive lineman Jon Knapschaefer and senior linebacker Jack Homan.

Coldwater (13-1) plays Canton Central Catholic (10-3) for the D-V state title at 8 p.m. Saturday. Marion Local (13-1) plays Cuyahoga Heights (14-0) for the D-VI championship at 10 a.m. Friday. All games will be at Ohio Stadium in Columbus.

Also making the D-V first team were Greeneview defensive lineman Isaiah Harding and Rams teammate and tight end/punter Ethan Bradds.

The Southwest District defensive player of the year, Harding was chosen as a defensive lineman. Bradds, an outstanding tight end for the Rams, was selected as a punter. They were key reasons Greeneview (9-3) advanced to the playoffs three straight seasons. The Rams lost to four-time defending state champ Coldwater 27-24 in a Region 20 semifinal.

Bradds has committed to Eastern Kentucky University.

Additional D-VI area first-team selections were Mechanicsburg quarterback Kaleb Romero, defensive lineman Dylan Hartman and offensive lineman Dylan Hartley. Other D-VI first-teamers were Miami East seninor defensive back Arron Adams and National Trail senior punter Ben Sullivan.

It’s the second straight season for Romero and Hartley on the D-VI first team. Romero reset all the Indians’ significant single-season and career offensive records. Hartley was just as dominant as a defensive lineman. Hartman was named as an offensive lineman.

Mechanicsburg (12-1) rolled to its second straight 10-0 regular season and lost 26-15 to Marion local in a Region 24 final.

The D-V offensive and defensive players of the year were running back Sam Stoll (Milan Edison) and linebacker Griffin Baumoel (Canton Central Catholic). The D-V coach of the year was Marce Porcello (Wickliffe).

The D-VI players of the year were running back Donny Johnson (Hamler Patrick Henry) and linebacker Owen Loncar (Kirtland). The D-VI coach of the year was Bill Inselmann (Hamler Patrick Henry).

Teams were chosen by statewide district media panels based on nominations from coaches and forwarded to the Associated Press, which determined the All-Ohio teams. Division VII All-Ohio and Mr Football will be announced today.

See Scoreboard for All-Ohio teams

About the Author