Dayton wins 16th A-10 volleyball tournament title in last 21 years

Flyers have reached 30 victories for fifth time since 1984

The Dayton Flyers continued their dominance of Atlantic 10 Conference volleyball, winning the league tournament by beating Saint Louis 3-1 on Saturday and Loyola Chicago 3-1 on Sunday at Davidson’s Belk Arena,

Dayton (31-2) stretched its winning streak to 26 matches. That’s a new school record. It has 30 victories for the fifth time since moving to NCAA Division I in 1984. It was 30-2 in 2016, 20-6 in 2014, 30-4 in 2009 and 33-2 in 2007.

Dayton will find out its opponent and destination for the NCAA tournament on Nov. 26.

This is Dayton’s 16th A-10 tournament title since 2003. All have come in the last 21 seasons. It did not win the tournament in 2006, 2008, 2013, 2017 and 2022.

No. 1 seed Dayton beat No. 5 seed Saint Louis 23-25, 25-13, 25-15, 27-25 and beat No. 2 seed Loyola Chicago 25-13, 16-25, 25-22, 26-24. In 18 A-10 regular-season matches, Dayton lost only two sets, one to Saint Louis and one to Loyola Chicago.

Dayton’s Lexie Almodovar and Alyssa Miller made the all-tournament team.

About the Author