Dayton women picked to win A-10 title in preseason poll

Flyers open season at 11 a.m. Nov. 9 against Alabama A&M

The Dayton Flyers women’s basketball team received 11 of 14 first-place votes and was picked to win the Atlantic 10 Conference championship in the preseason poll released Wednesday.

Following Dayton were: Rhode Island, which received two first-place votes; Fordham; Saint Louis; Virginia Commonwealth, which received one first-place vote; Massachusetts; Richmond; La Salle; Duquesne; Saint Joseph’s; Davidson; George Washington; St. Bonaventure; and George Mason.

The Flyers finished 14-5 last season and won the regular-season championship with a 12-1 record.

VCU beat Dayton in the semifinals of the conference tournament and beat UMass in the championship game.

» MORE NEWS: A-10 tournament moving to Delaware

Four Flyers, including the team’s three sixth-year seniors, earned all-conference preseason honors. Here’s the list of players honored:

First team: Jenna Giacone, Dayton; Anna DeWolfe, Fordham; Sam Breen, Massachusetts; Emmanuelle Tahane, Rhode Island; Ciaja Harbison, Saint Louis; and Taya Robinson, VCU.

Second team: Erin Whalen, Dayton; Kendell Heremaia, Fordham; Kayla Spruill, La Salle; Destiney Philoxy, Massachusetts; Marie-Paule Foppossi, Rhode Island; and Kate Klimkiewicz, Richmond.

Third team: Suzi-Rose Deegan, Davidson; Tenin Magassa, Dayton; Claire Jacobs, La Salle; Dez Elmore, Rhode Island; Asianae Johnson, St. Bonaventure; and Brooke Flowers, Saint Louis.

All-defensive team: Araion Bradshaw, Dayton; Destiney Philoxy, Massachusetts; Brooke Flowers, Saint Louis; and Ciaja Harbison, Saint Louis.

About the Author