Dwayne Haskins named Big Ten’s best quarterback, offensive player

Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins was named the Big Ten’s best quarterback and top offensive player on Wednesday.

Since the Griese-Brees Quarterback of the Year Award was instituted in 2011, Ohio State players have claimed it six of eight times.

Wayne grad Braxton Miller was the conference QB of the year in 2012 and ’13 while J.T. Barrett won it the last two years and in 2014.

» MORE ON BUCKEYES: Meyer plans to coach next seasonWhat Meyer said at Monday's press conference

Ohio State has had the conference offensive player of the year four times in the last seven years with Miller winning in ’12 and ’13 and running back Ezekiel Elliott claiming the honor in 2015.

“Winning awards is awesome, but to be able to go out here and play in my first year the way I’ve played, I’m just really blessed and thankful for my teammates and my coaches to put me in opportunity to go out there and ball the way that I did,” Haskins said Tuesday when asked about the potential of winning major Big Ten awards.

"Just thankful to my family and my friends and my support system for getting me to where I’m at. Even though I’ve won these awards and gotten these accolades every week, I’m only thinking about winning the game on Saturday (in the Big Ten championship game).

“I’ll feel more accomplished by beating Northwestern than I will about winning anything else.”

Haskins was also named the first-team All-Big Ten quarterback.

Joining him on that squad are offensive lineman Isaiah Prince (unanimous) and receiver Parris Campbell (coaches only).

Running back J.K. Dobbins (coaches) and center Michael Jordan (media) made the all-conference second team.

The media put receiver K.J. Hill and guard Demetrius Knox on the third team while Terry McLaurin, running back Mike Weber and offensive linemen Malcolm Pridgeon and Thayer Munford all received honorable mention.

Senior receiver Johnnie Dixon was named Ohio State’s winner of the Big Ten sportsmanship award.

Wayne graduate Robert Landers was among Ohio State players to earn All-Big Ten recognition announced Tuesday night.

About the Author