GCLC baseball: State champion CJ, Badin each get two individual awards

Division II prep state baseball champion Chaminade Julienne has taken two of the top individual awards in the 2018 Greater Catholic League Coed Division voting.

Senior Ryan Peltier is the Co-Athlete of the Year and Mike Barhorst is the Coach of the Year in the North Division, which CJ won with a 12-2 record.

Fenwick senior Matt Fink is also a Co-Athlete of the Year after missing most of the last two seasons with injuries.

Badin won the Central Division with a 12-2 mark, led by senior Daunte DeCello (Player of the Year) and Brion Treadway (Co-Coach of the Year).

Roger Bacon’s Tim McCoy shared the Coach of the Year award with Treadway.

Here is a full list of the GCL Coed teams:

North Division

First Team

Alter — Kevin Bowen, Zach Claiborne

Carroll — Trent Randall, Zach Westgerdes

Chaminade Julienne — Sebastian Gongora, Ryan Peltier, Andrew Simones, Nick Wissman

Fenwick — Keegan Corbett, Matt Fink, Zach Lorei

Second Team

Alter — Luke Ewald

Carroll — Johnny Adkins, Mat McMahan, Martin O’Grady

Chaminade Julienne — David Ernst, Jack Huffman, A.J. Solomon, Ben Thomas

Fenwick — C.J. Napier, Jake Schaefer, Thomas Vogelsang

Central Division

First Team

Badin — Daunte DeCello, Tyler Hargrove, Andrew Noelker, Zac Wilson

McNicholas — Luke Brooks, Jackson Haas, Michael Lang

Purcell Marian — Ryan Lamb, Mitchell Mayes

Roger Bacon — Chris Hoffmann, Chris Kugele

Second Team

Badin — Drew Holderbach, Kaden Kimbrell, Seth Klaiber, Devon Valentino

McNicholas — Mitchell Kling, Tanner McClanahan, Quinn Wolfram

Purcell Marian — Ace Taylor

Roger Bacon — Tyler Bullock, Jake Speed, Cole Stager

About the Author