Olivia Shore, 15, (right) wrestles with Garrett Kowalk during a recent practice for the Miami East High School wrestling team. LISA POWELL / STAFF

Girl power: Shore, Nuessgen win sectional wrestling titles

Miami East’s Olivia Shore and Beavercreek’s Kaileigh Nuessgen each won sectional titles at 106 pounds Saturday to advance to next weekend’s district tournament.

Both had battles in the finals that went down to the final buzzer with Shore needing overtime to secure the title.

ARCHDEACON: Already a champion, Shore wants more

RELATED: Saturday’s high school scoreboard

RELATED: Saturday’s high school roundup

After pinning Greeneview’s Teagan Hendricks in 1:07 in the Division III semifinals at Covington, Shore scored a 5-4 win in ultimate tiebreak over Troy Christian’s Caleb Schroer.

Nuessgen recorded a 4-3 win over Northmont’s Colin Mellott for a Division I sectional title at Centerville.

The top four in each weight class advance to the district tournament. Shore and Nuessgen will have plenty of teammates at the district tournament.

Miami East won the titlte at Covington while Troy Christian was second.

Shore’s older brother, Graham, won the 120 title for the Vikings while Alex Isbrandt (138), Zane Strubler (145), Travis Ferguson (152) and Brenden Dalton (220) also won titles.

In all, 10 Vikings qualified for district.

Troy Christian advanced nine and had two titleists — Ethan Turner (113) and Damon Beatty (182).

Versailles had three champs and advanced 11 to win the Lehman Division III title.

Trevor Hubler (113), Jacob Poling (120) and Nathan Wagner (145) placed first for the Tigers.

Tommy Hoskins, seeking his fourth state title, was first at 126 as Legacy Christian Academy advanced all three members to the district tournament. National Trail’s Peyton Lane (132) and Arcanum’s Jayden Heltsley (285) also won titles.

Division I

Nuessgen’s title helped Beavercreek hold on for a 208.5-204.5 win over Springboro in the Centerville 1 sectional.

Gavin Bell (138) and Ian Heiland (145) also won titles for the Beavers, who advanced nine to district.

Springboro’s lone title came from Mason Kleinberg at 120.

Maimisburg had three champs in Colin Lovett (113), Sebastian Beachler (182) and Jon Hardin (285) while Northmont’s Andrew Knick (132) and Dylan Moran (195) also won titles.

Other area wrestlers to win sectional titles were: Troy’s Joe Pascale (126), Centerville’s Drew Wiechers (152) and Fairmont returning state placer Nevan Snodgrass (160).

Butler had nine champs and 10 qualifiers to win the Centerville 2 title.

The Aviators got titles from Matt Motter (106), Josh Suddeth (113), Logan Hoskins (120), Bailey Suddeth (126), Ronnie Pietro (132), Jestin Love (152), Ethan Cyrette (170), Janson Love (182) and Nick Coyle (195).

Wayne was the only other team with multiple champs in Austint Mullins (145) and Jacob Padilla (285).

Division II

The hosts had no problems in the Graham 1 sectional.

Graham won 12 titles and advanced all 14 .

Chaminade Julienne, which finished second, won the other two titles — Thomas McGraw (132) and Hunter Johns (182).

Valley View edged Eaton for the second week in the row to win the Graham 2 title.

The Spartans got titles from Ethan Mayo (106), Joey Dima (113), Hunter Ernst (170) and Stone Day (195) and advanced 10.

Wade Monebroke (132), Seth Hodapp (160) and Seth Bowman (285) all won titles for Eaton, which advanced eight.

Oakwood’s Carston King (152) and Tipp’s Caleb Blake (145) also won titles.

The Division I district will be held at Trent Arena in Kettering while D-II is at Wilmington and D-III heads to Hobart Arena in Troy next Friday and Saturday.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.