Caption

High school football: Key dates from preseason to state finals

High school football preseason practice begins the end of July. Here are key dates, provided by the Ohio High School Athletic Association:

Mon., July 30: The first day of preseason practice; this also is the earliest start date for the mandatory five-day acclimatization period.

Sun., Aug. 5: Mandatory day off.

»RELATED: Saturday playoff football returns

Tue., Aug. 7 through Sat., Aug. 18: Scrimmages permitted. Teams are permitted a maximum three scrimmages or two scrimmages and a Jamboree game.s

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Pike County murders: Grandmother suspects appear in court
  2. 2 Alter tops Wapakoneta to reach Division III state semifinals
  3. 3 High School Football: Friday’s regional finals scores

Thu.-Sat., Aug. 23-25: Most teams will play their season openers on one of these three days.

Sat., Oct. 27: The regular season ends. Teams are permitted a maximum 10 regular-season games.

»RELATED: New sit-out rule approved

Sun., Oct. 28: Final computer points posted and playoff qualifiers announced. Teams qualify based on a numerical formula of wins (Level 1) and wins by a defeated opponent (Level 2).

Fri., Nov. 2: Regional quarterfinals in Divisions I, II, III and VI.

Sat., Nov. 3: Regional quarterfinals in Divisions IV, V and VII.

»RELATED: New life for Miami Valley League

Fri., Nov. 9: Regional semifinals in Divisions I, II, III and VI.

Sat., Nov. 10: Regional semifinals in Divisions IV, V and VII.

Fri., Nov. 16: Regional finals in Divisions I, II, III and VI.

»FACEBOOK: For more high school sports you should like Marc Pendleton

Sat., Nov. 17: Regional finals in Divisions IV, V and VII.

Fri., Nov. 23: State semifinals in Divisions I, II, III and VI.

»TWITTER: You should like @MarcPendleton

Sat., Nov. 24: State semifinals in Divisions IV, V and VII.

Thu.-Sat., Nov. 29-Dec. 2: State championship games at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium, Canton.

More from Daytondailynews