High School shakeup: 10 schools leaving GWOC form new league

The 10 schools leaving the Greater Western Ohio Conference have found a new home.

The latest version of the Miami Valley League — comprised of Greenville, Piqua, Sidney, Troy, Xenia, Butler, Fairborn, Stebbins, Tippecanoe and West Carrollton — will begin play in the 2019-20 school year, according to league commissioner Eric Spahr. Superintendents from the 10 schools unanimously approved the move.

Greenville, Piqua, Sidney, Troy and Xenia are charter members of the MVL, which dates back to 1926.

»RELATED: GWOC realignment part of continuing trend

The MVL will be made up of two divisions of five teams. The Miami Division will be comprised of Butler, Greenville, Piqua, Tipp and Troy. The Valley Division will be made up of Fairborn, Sidney, Stebbins, West Carollton and Xenia.

»RELATED: 5 things to know about GWOC split

All 10 schools will continue play in the GWOC through the 2018-19 school year.

Trotwood-Madison, Centerville, Wayne, Fairmont, Beavercreek, Springfield, Northmont, Springboro, Miamisburg and Lebanon will remain in the GWOC.

About the Author