Ohio State names 2018 football captain, adds QB

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Combined ShapeCaption
Ohio State interviews, Aug. 3: Wide receivers

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Ohio State football named seven players captains for the 2018 season on Saturday.

The seven-player group includes a pair of receivers — Parris Campbell and Terry McLaurin — who were also captains last year.

Joining them are fellow receiver Johnnie Dixon along with offensive lineman Isaiah Prince, defensive end Nick Bosa, safety Jordan Fuller and linebacker Tuf Borland.

The announcement came one week before the Buckeyes open the season at home against Oregon State.

ExploreRyan Day will serve as interim head coach after Urban Meyer was hit with a three-game suspension on Wednesday. 

The captains were elected by a vote of players held Friday.

Campbell edged Dixon for the most votes overall while Fuller received the most votes of any defensive player.

Ohio State also announced the addition of former West Virginia quarterback Chris Chugunov to the roster as a graduate transfer.

That means the New Jersey native is eligible to play right away.

He saw action in eight games for the Mountaineers, including two starts last year when the regular starter was injured.

He completed 45 of 95 passes for 551 yards and three touchdowns with three interceptions.

RELATED: What to know about the 2018 Ohio State QBs

Chugunov holds a bachelor’s degree in finance and is pursuing a hospitality management master’s degree at OSU, where he has two years of eligibility remaining.

His addition is curious given that Ohio State has a starter in Dwayne Haskins and a backup in redshirt freshman Tate Martell, but he figures to at least add depth.

True freshman Matthew Baldwin is coming back from a serious knee injury at the conclusion of his high school career, and the only other quarterback on the roster is walk-on Kory Curtis.

About the Author