H.S. Results for 3/16: ‘Boro goalie earns All-Ohio honors

Springboro goalie Jay Kiplinger was an All-Ohio third team selection in the awards announced Thursday.

Kiplinger sported a 91.49 save percentage and recorded three shutouts this season. ‘Boro lost in the district quarterfinals to Dublin Jerome.

Jack Dolan of Upper Arlington and Matt Wiegandt of St. Ignatius were tabbed as co-players of the year.

Joe Hammerly of Alter, Cody Kiefer of Talawanda and Ethan Green and Nick Martin of Beavercreek were area honorable mentions.


Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 See photos of $1.89M former Charles Kettering home for sale
  2. 2 $1.89M Charles F. Kettering home for sale | Dayton, Ohio news
  3. 3 Waffle House shooting: 4 dead after nude gunman opens fire in Tennesse

Boys Basketball

Thursday’s Results

Regional Semifinals

D-II at Fairmont

Dunbar 71, Bloom Carroll 37

Trotwood-Madison 61, Taft 56

Box Scores

Dunbar 71, Bloom Carroll 37: Jackson (D) 17; Brown (BC) 13. Records: D 24-3, BC 20-7.

Trotwood-Madison 61, Taft 56: Davis (TM) 17; Lackey (Ta) 15. Records: TM 25-2, Ta 21-5.

Girls Basketball

Thursday’s Results

State Semifinals

OSU’s Schottenstein Center, Columbus

Division II

Alter 50, Ottawa Glandorf 43, OT

Hathaway Brown 48, Miami Trace 40

Division IV

Waterford 37, Jackson Center 35

Berlin Hiland 44, Ottoville 41

Box Scores

Alter 50, Ottawa-Glandorf 43, OT: Bazelak (A) 20; Hempfling (OG) 15. Records: A 27-2, OG 27-1.

Hathaway Brown 48, Miami Trace 40: Bryant (MT) 17; Lawson (HB) 16. Records: HB 18-10, MT 24-5.

Waterford 37, Jackson Center 35: Meyer (JC) 10; Kern (W) 17. Records: W 25-3, JC 23-5.

Berlin Hiland 44, Ottoville 41: A. Troyer (BH) 18; Landin (O) 15. Records: BH 28-1, O 24-4.



Player of the Year: Jack Dolan, Upper Arlington; Matt Wiegandt, St. Ignatius.

Coach of the Year: Patrick O’Rourke, St. Ignatius.

First Team: Brett Rich, Bowling Green; Logan Rossiter, Walsh Jesuit; Matt Wiegandt, St. Ignatius; Jack Dolan, Upper Arlington; Connor Koehnke, St. Ignatius; Ben Mitchell, Tol. St. Francis.

Second Team: Jackson Polish, University; Tim Organ, Tol. St. Francis; Andrew Zedella, St. Ignatius; Sean Bauchens, Holy Name; Jimmy Bursinger, Olentangy Liberty; Adam Furnas, Bowling Green; Curtis Szelesta, St. Edward.

Third Team: Jay Kiplinger, Springboro; Mark Mitchell, Col. St. Charles; Nick Tevonian, Upper Arlington; Brandon Armstrong, Findlay; J.D. Clemens, University; Mark Murley, Olentangy Orange; Warren Natyshak, Tol. St. Francis.

Area Honorable Mention: Ethan Green, Beavercreek; Joe Hammerly, Alter; Cody Kiefer, Talawanda; Nick Martin, Beavercreek.


Contact the Cox Media Group Ohio (Dayton Daily News, Springfield News-Sun and Journal-News) with scores and results as soon as possible after varsity high school athletic contests by email only at sports@coxohio.com. Please include any details from your contest that you would like published along with a contact name and phone number. For varsity basketball include final score, leading scorers each team, each team’s records and a short summary about the contest: a last-second winning shot, noteworthy stats. All other printed results will be final scores only.

A daily roundup of high school results will be posted on each paper’s website at:




More from Daytondailynews