SWBL shakeup: Preble Shawnee will leave to join new conference

Preble Shawnee sophomore Megan Roell competes in the discus during the first day of the SWBL track and field meet at Northridge last season. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF
Preble Shawnee sophomore Megan Roell competes in the discus during the first day of the SWBL track and field meet at Northridge last season. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

Preble Shawnee High School announced via Twitter and its school website on Tuesday it will end a longtime affiliation with the Southwestern Buckeye League and join 11 other area schools to form a new league.

No other schools were mentioned, but the Arrows likely will join departing Cross County Conference members to form a new 12-team league. Ten current CCC members (Ansonia, Arcanum, Bradford, Franklin Monroe, Mississinawa Valley, National Trail, Newton, Tri-County North, Tri-Village and Twin Valley South) all announced their intention to leave the CCC last month and form a new conference, possibly as soon as 2020.

»» BOYS HOOP: Emotional win for Fairmont

»» BOYS HOOP: Sectional, district final schedule

That continues a recent turnover trend among area conferences:

• In December 2018, the remaining members of the Greater Western Ohio Conference (Beavercreek, Centerville, Fairmont, Miamisburg, Northmont, Springboro, Springfield and Wayne) announced it will dismiss Trotwood-Madison following the 2019-20 school year.

»» RELATED: Preble Shawnee leaving SWBL

• In November 2018, Lebanon announced it would leave the GWOC and join an expanded Eastern Cincinnati Conference, along with Cincinnati Winton Woods and Little Miami.

»» FACEBOOK: For more sports you should like Marc Pendleton

»» TWITTER: You should like @MarcPendleton

• In the fall of 2018, London and North Union joined the Central Buckeye Conference in all sports but football.

• In February 2018, 10 GWOC schools (Butler, Fairborn, Greenville, Piqua, Sidney, Stebbins, Tippecanoe, Troy, West Carrollton and Xenia) announced they would leave to form a revised Miami Valley League in the fall of 2019.

• In the fall of 2017, Greenon left the CBC to join the Ohio Heritage Conference, along with West Jefferson.

• In the fall of 2016, Tippecanoe and Stebbins left the CBC to join the GWOC. Also, Madison Plains and Fairbanks joined the OHC.

»» GIRLS HOOP: Regional schedule

»» BOYS HOOP: Springfield dodges Sidney

Preble Shawnee, located at Camden in Preble County, has been a SWBL member since 1984 and is in the small-school SWBL Buckeye Division. Prior to joining the SWBL, Preble Shawnee was a CCC member.

Preble Shawnee leaving would cut the SWBL to 13 teams, six in the Buckeye Division (Carlisle, Dixie, Middletown Madison, Milton-Union, Northridge and Waynesville) and seven in the Southwestern Division (Bellbrook, Brookville, Eaton, Franklin, Monroe, Oakwood and Valley View).

»» GIRLS HOOP: Centerville rebounds with KO of Lakota West

»» GIRLS HOOP: Carroll, Franklin, Valley View sweep

The SWBL requires a one-year notice to leave.

“For now, we will continue to work with the eleven schools to create a new premier athletic conference in Western Ohio,” the statement concluded.

»» RELATED: All-Southwestern District teams

»» GIRLS HOOP: All-Southwest District teams

»» BOYS HOOP: All-Southwest District teams

»» BOYS HOOP: Fairmont finds new life in postseason

»» BOYS HOOP: Thurgood Marshall advances in D-II 

»» BOYS HOOP: Miamisburg, Centerville advance

»» BOYS HOOP: Three great shots at Mr. Basketball

»» BOYS HOOP: Trotwood-Madison D-II state poll champ

»» BOYS HOOP: Final state poll rankings

»» BOYS HOOP: Northridge shines in SWBL spotlight

»» GIRLS HOOP: Final state polls

»» BOYS HOOP: CJ coach to retire after boys basketball season

»» BOYS HOOP: Xenia hot-shot goes for 52 points

In Other News