Monroe’s Alyssa Wagner delivers a pitch toward catcher Sam Schwab as Bellbrook’s Savannah Geldbaugh (6) prepares to bunt May 3 at Monroe. RICK CASSANO/STAFF

SWBL softball: Monroe sweeps top Southwestern honors

Monroe led the way with three top honorees in the 2018 Southwestern Buckeye League prep softball awards voting.

Senior Faith Hensley was Player of the Year, sophomore Alyssa Wagner was Pitcher of the Year and Tim Kellis was Coach of the Year for the Hornets in the Southwestern Division, which Monroe ruled with an 11-1 mark.

In the Buckeye Division, Milton-Union was the team champion with an 11-1 record and had the Pitcher of the Year (senior Mercedes Farmer) and Coach of the Year (Curt Schaffer). Dixie junior McKinlee Ruppert was named Player of the Year.

Here are the full SWBL teams:

Buckeye Division

First Team

Carlisle — Sierra Bolen, Caitlyn Stewart

Dixie — McKinlee Ruppert

Madison — Regan Dorman, Taylor Johnson, Jenna O’Hair

Milton-Union — Madison Jones, Bree Nevels, Lizzy Oaks, Courtney Seevers

Preble Shawnee — Jenna Lovely

Second Team

Carlisle — Bailey Naylor, Sierra Orth

Dixie — Cailey McNinch

Madison — Ally King, Kenzi Saunders

Milton-Union — Maci Gregg, Hannah Oaks, Kya Swartztrauber

Northridge — Paige Williams

Preble Shawnee — Miranda Chaney

Waynesville — Haley Schrock

Honorable Mention

Carlisle — Bailey Allen, Haylee Hook

Dixie — Hailey Jenkins, Taylor Jones

Madison — Sabrina Dolph, Jackie Kovscek

Milton-Union — Olivia Brown, Annika Hutchinson

Northridge — Autumn Belcher, Ashlie Smith

Preble Shawnee — Katie Craft, Bailey Downard

Waynesville — Jaden Lawrenz, Ashlyn Stiles

Southwestern Division

First Team

Bellbrook — Kaley Clark

Brookville — Jessica Brown, Emma Burton, Erin Gardner

Eaton — Annika Gels, Becca Mowen

Franklin — Chloe Miller

Monroe — Faith Hensley, Sam Schwab, Alyssa Wagner

Valley View — Sydni Callahan

Second Team

Bellbrook — Randi Holder

Brookville — Kristin Gardner, Madison Hamiel, Kirsten Jeffries, Ashley Lenser

Eaton — Lexi Miller

Franklin — Haley Adams, Madison Earles, Olivia Kelly

Monroe — Mikayla Decker, Erin Dyke

Honorable Mention

Bellbrook — Emily Hughes, Sam Seubert

Brookville — Haley Brown, Kassidy Heck

Eaton — Bailey Shepard, Bailey Worley

Franklin — Shelby Raby, Brooke Stover

Monroe — Makenzi Moore, Shelby York

Oakwood — Kylie Neff, Casey Zepernick

Valley View — MaKayla Eversole, Alyssa Hawes

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.