Three area standout girls first team All-Southwest District

Tecumseh’s Corinne Thomas, Hayley Suchland of Northeastern and Cedarville’s Ise Bolender all were selected to the first team in their respective divisions of the All-Southwest District girls high school basketball teams that were released on Thursday.

Thomas was chosen to Division I, Suchland D-III and Bolender D-IV.

» RELATED: Girls regional basketball schedule

Area second-team members were Presley Griffitts of Tecumseh and Springfield’s Mickayla Perdue (D-I), Mikala Morris of Kenton Ridge (D-II) and Greeneview’s Frankie Fife (D-III).

Named to the third team was Greenon’s Reagan Ware (D-III).

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Recommended for you

Most read

  1. 1 Man plants glitter bomb 'Amazon' package to catch thief, and it's epic
  2. 2 Woman, child suffer serious injuries after car crashes into tree
  3. 3 Family of LaShonda Childs wants justice to be served in shooting death

Thomas (23.3 points) and Griffitts (20.5), both high-scoring juniors and three-year starters, were go-to reasons why the Arrows (19-6) won their third straight Central Buckeye Conference Kenton Trail Division championship.

»RELATED: D-I girls All-SW District basketball

Suchland, a 5-8 senior, was among the state’s leading scorers (30.9). She set Jets records for most career points (1,775) and single-game scoring (49). She signed to play basketball and softball at Wilmington College.

Bolander, a 5-10 senior, led the Indians in scoring (20.2). She was the Ohio Heritage Conference player of the year and has signed to play at Cedarville University.

»RELATED: D-II girls All-SW District basketball

Perdue, a 5-8 guard, had a breakout freshman season, ranking second in Greater Western Ohio Conference scoring (22.0) and scoring 40 in her varsity career opener against Yellow Springs.

Several area players also were chosen honorable mention:

D-I: Caralyssa Byrd, Springfield.

»RELATED: D-III girls All-SW District basketball

D-II: Brooke Johannes, Katelyn Nash, Graham; Desiree Jones, Kenton Ridge; Olivia Potts, Liz Weaver, Shawnee.

D-III: Kelsey Day, Gabby Hollar, Taylor Lauck, West Liberty-Salem; Lydia Henry, Greenon; Alaina Lyons, Urbana; Sylvie Sonneman, Faith Strickle, Greeneview.

»RELATED: D-IV girls All-SW District basketball

D-IV: Maggie Coe, Cedarville; Alea Ferguson, Tori Thomas, Emma Vanninen, Triad; Leslie Flores, Avery Shepherd, Southeastern; Abigail Peterson, Catholic Central; and Amani Wagner, Yellow Springs.

The teams were chosen by a media panel of Southwest District representatives. First-team members will be considered for All-Ohio honors. The boys All-Southwest District basketball teams will be released on Friday.

More from Daytondailynews