Amari Davis of Trotwood (left) had 23 points. Trotwood-Madison defeated Cin. Aiken 96-62 in a boys high school basketball D-II regional semifinal at Trent Arena on Thursday, March 14, 2019. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF
Photo: Staff Writer
Photo: Staff Writer

Xenia’s Curtis, Trotwood’s Davis earn top honors on All-Ohio hoops teams

Xenia’s Samari Curtis and Trotwood-Madison’s Amari Davis swept top honors on the Division I and Division II All-Ohio boys basketball teams released Wednesday by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association.

Curtis was named player of the year in D-I; Davis was named player of the year in D-II.

Curtis, a 6-foot-4 senior guard, averaged 34.4 points per game for the Buccaneers, who lost to Centerville in the district semifinals. He will play collegiately at Cincinnati.

»RELATED: Trio headline Division III, IV All-Ohio boys teams

»RELATED: State semifinal boys basketball schedule

Davis, a 6-4 senior guard, averaged 30.1 points per game to guide the Rams to their third straight state final four appearance. He will play collegiately at Green Bay.

Xenia High School’s Samari Curtis shoots a jumper in front of Centerville’s Jason Sneed during during their Division I sectional final game on Friday night at Trotwood-Madison High School. The Elks won 63-51. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO BY MICHAEL COOPER
Photo: Staff Writer

Curtis was joined on the D-I first team by Sidney senior Andre Gordon. A 6-foot-2 guard and Virginia Tech recruit, Gordon averaged 22.6 points.

Butler’s Michael Kreill (15.3 ppg) and Springfield’s Ra’Heim Moss (18.0 ppg) were second-team picks in D-I. Both are seniors.

Area players who earned honorable mention honors in D-I are: Ryan Hall, Fairmont; Ronnie Hampton, Wayne; Shaunn Monroe, Fairborn and Mo Njie, Centerville.

»RELATED: Trotwood-Madison, St. Henry shooting for state titles

In D-II, Chaminade Julienne’s Milton Gage (17.9 ppg) was named to the second team and Fenwick’s C.J. Napier (19.3) earned third-team honors.

Area players who were selected honorable mention in D-II are: Carl Blanton, Trotwood-Madison; Twon Hines, Northridge; Anthony McComb, Thurgood Marshall; Thomas Myers, Clinton-Massie; Darren Rubin, Oakwood.

The coaches of the year are Mentor’s Bob Krizancic (D-I) and London’s Zach Brown (D-II).

The Division III and IV teams were announced on Tuesday. Teams are chosen at the district level by media reps throughout the state based on coaches’ nominations. Ohio’s Mr. Basketball will be announced on Thursday.

The OPSWA announced the All-Ohio girls basketball teams last week.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.