Dayton physician named president of national group

A Dayton physician, Dr. Gary LeRoy, is the new president-elect of the American Academy of Family Physicians.

The national physician group represents 131,400 physicians and medical students, which advocates on primary care issues.

LeRoy was sworn in on Sept. 25 and will serve a one-year term.

MORE: Sober living apartments part of unique recovery campus

LeRoy is a staff physician at the East Dayton Health Center, which is part of the Community Health Centers of Greater Dayton. He also is the associate dean for student affairs and admission at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine in Dayton, where he also is an associate professor of family medicine.

“I hope to be a role model for emerging young leaders,” LeRoy said in a statement through Wright State University. “I hope to bring the specialty of family medicine into the forefront of the thoughts of all Americans who are seeking a permanent solution to poor health outcomes and gaping health care disparities among segments of the U.S. population.”

LeRoy had served as president of the Ohio Academy of Family Physicians from 2004 to 2005 and currently serves as a board member.

MORE: ‘Dayton Heals’ website created to highlight trauma resources

LeRoy earned both his bachelor’s and medical degrees from Wright State University. He completed his family medicine residency at Miami Valley Hospital in Dayton and a primary care faculty development fellowship at Michigan State University.

He has also served on many boards around the area and is co-chair of the Oregon District Tragedy Fund.

About the Author