Dayton professor named president of Ohio physician lobbying group

The new president of the largest physician lobbying group in Ohio is a professor at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Dr. Evangeline Andarsio was sworn in as the new president of the Ohio State Medical Association during the association’s annual meeting on April 14.

She will serve a one-year term at the helm of the association, which represents physicians and has played an influential role in shaping state policy that affects the group’s interests.

RELATED: Dayton leaders lobby for region at annual D.C. fly-in

Andarsio is a clinical associate professor of obstetrics and gynecology at the Boonshoft School of Medicine, according to a statement from Wright State. She retired from clinical medical practice in January 2016 after more than 25 years as a Dayton obstetrician-gynecologist.

She stated the association “can play an important role in developing policy throughout the physician’s professional life cycle to advocate for physician well-being and resiliency, especially in the area of workforce environment by reducing regulatory burdens and improving electronic health records and other system problems.”

RELATED: Still need to file your taxes? Today’s your last chance

About the Author