Tipp City: McMurry, Dillard, Thompson win school board seats; council race closer

Huffman, Kessler, Rogers appear to win city council seats, with Roberts close behind

Angie McMurry, Cindy Wilson Dillard and Kyle Thompson were elected as the new members of the Tipp City Exempted Village Schools Board of Education, according to unofficial totals Tuesday from the Miami County Board of Elections.

Ballots counted at the elections office in Troy showed McMurry at 22.60 percent; Dillard at 17.69 percent; and Thompson at 16.58 percent. The other candidates were David Moorhead at 11.74 percent; Ray Lilly III with 11.54 percent; Linda Ares, at 11.38 percent; and Joshua Grear at 8.46 percent.

>> LIVE RESULTS: Click here tonight for frequently updated election results

Those three seats now are held by Theresa Dunaway and Anne Zakkour, who did not seek re-election, and Joellen Heatherly, who was appointed recently to complete the term of Simon Patry. Patry resigned in September from his term, which expires Dec. 31.

Most board candidates said their goals included holding civil board meetings and focusing on district needs instead of personalities. The board in recent years often engaged in heated arguments during meetings that at times lasted five hours or more. A citizens-led effort to legally remove Zakkour and Dunaway from office through the courts was dropped earlier this year.

“Thank you to the Tipp City Community! I am humbled and honored by the trust you have placed in me,” McMurry said. “While the results are not yet final, I pledge to serve as a member of the Tipp City Board of Education with the best interests of the students, staff, administrators and community in mind. When the results are final, I look forward to serving with Cindy Dillard and Kyle Thompson, as well as learning from the leadership of Amber Drum and Rick Mains.” The five, she said, will make a good team.

“I am so grateful for the overwhelming support shown at the polls today. It is truly an honor to be elected,” Dillard said Tuesday night, congratulating McMurry and Thompson. She said she looks forward to working with them and continuing board members Amber Drum and Rick Mains. “Our community is watching. We will accomplish great things as a board but most importantly, I look forward to seeing the community grow confidence in our board,” Dillard said.

Thompson said he was “excited by the results and looking forward to serving the great community of Tipp City.” He said voters selected a “special team” to serve the community on the board, adding, “I am looking forward to the next four years doing the best we can for Tipp City.”

Tipp City Council

The numbers in the race between six people running for three seats on the Tipp City Council were closer.

Kathryn Huffman, John Kessler and Logan Rogers were elected, according to the unofficial results. Huffman had 23.49 percent; Kessler at 17.03 percent; and Rogers with 16.64 percent. Rogers was followed closely by Will Roberts at 16.18 percent; Leslie Budding at 15.60 percent; and Michael McFarland at 11.05 percent. Huffman, the current council president, and McFarland, the current mayor, were incumbents. The third incumbent, Robert Schwab, did not file for re-election.

“I am honored by the overwhelming support and vote of confidence from the residents of Tipp City in my re-election to City Council,” Huffman said Tuesday night. “I look forward to serving another term representing the citizens with integrity and accountability. My congratulations to John Kessler and Logan Rogers. I look forward to working together. "

Rogers, who previously had served on council, said he was looking forward to being on council again. “I love this town,” he said. He admitted, though, he would “be happier” if the difference between himself and Roberts was more than 40 votes.

Roberts congratulated the top vote recipients. He said he remains committed to the betterment of the city. “I will continue to be involved in our community, advocating for the issues I believe in and supporting initiatives that will improve the lives of our fellow residents,” Roberts said.

The board of elections will conduct its official count Nov. 21.

About the Author