County Commission race a squeaker, Beagle wins, AP says

Turner, Jordan, Chabot, Boehner all re-elected


* Local congressmen Mike Turner, Steve Chabot, John Boehner and Jim Jordan all re-elected, according to the Associated Press.

* Republican State Representatives Rick Perales, Fred Strahorn, Mike Henne, Jim Butler. re-elected.

* Niraj Antani elected new state representative for south Dayton suburban communities.

Current developments:

12:20 p.m.: With 97 percent of the vote now in in Montgomery County, incumbent Commissioner Dan Foley is barely winning, 45.8 percent to 44.39 percent for Republican Mike Nolan. Former Dayton Mayor Gary Leitzell received almost 10 percent.

11:50 p.m.: Incumbent Democratic state Rep. Roland Winburn has lost his seat to Republican challenger Jeff Rezabek in the 43rd House seat, according to the AP.

11:20 p.m.: With 59 percent of the vote in, incumbent Montgomery County Judge Frances McGee is losing to challenger Richard Skelton, 53-47. Judge Dennis Adkins is holding off a challenge from Susan Solle, 55-44 percent.

11:15: Republican Jeff Rezabek has big lead, 62-38 percent, over incumbent Democrat state Rep. Roland Winburn. AP has not called the race yet since a lot of votes in Montgomery County are still out.

11:05 p.m.: South suburban precincts are coming in and Republican Mike Nolan is catching up on incumbent Democrat Dan Foley in the Montgomery County Commission race. With 50 percent of the vote in Foley has 46.9, Nolan has 43 percent and former Dayton Mayor Gary Leitzell has 10 percent.

11 p.m.: Republican Niraj Antani wins 42nd state House seat covering south Montgomery County suburbs. 23-year old will be one of youngest in the House.

10:50 p.m.: The Associated Press called the 5th District Ohio Senate race for state Sen. Bill Beagle at about 10:35 p.m. but Democrat Dee Gillis’ campaign manager Zach Roberts said they would not comment until more of Montgomery County votes were counted.

“We know that the AP has called the race but we believe there are still votes out there to be counted,” Roberts said.

10:38 p.m.: State Senator Bill Beagle defeated Democrat Dee Gillis, AP says.

10:30 p.m.: Republican Kyle Koehler has won the 79th House seat in Clark County. Will replace term-limited state Rep. Ross McGregor.

10:15 p.m.: Montgomery County Common Pleas Court judge races are close. Incumbent Frances McGee is leading challenger Richard Skelton, 53-47 percent. Judge Dennis Adkins is up 52 percent to 48 percent over challenger Susan Solle. About 33 percent of the vote is in.

10:11 p.m.: Montgomery County Auditor Karl Keith is defeating Republican challenger Harry Bossey, 62-38 percent with 32 percent of the vote counted.

10:05: State Rep. Fred Strahorn has about 76% of the vote over Republican Jeff Dalton, 19 percent, and independent William Pace, 4 percent.

9:20: State Sen. Bill Beagle now leading Democrat Dee Gillis, 60.1 percent to 39 percent in the 5th District Ohio Senate race, according to the Secretary of State’s website.

9:10 p.m.: Montgomery County Commissioner Dan Foley leading with 52 percent of the vote over Mike Nolan, 37 percent and Gary Leitzell, 10 percent. With 11 percent of the vote in.

9 p.m.: Republican Paul Zeltwanger wins Lebanon-Mason area state House seat. Will replace Pete Beck.

8:55 p.m.: State Rep. Fred Strahorn re-elected to 39th district covering most of Dayton.

8:30: State Sen. Bill Beagle defeating Democrat Dee Gillis, 52%-48%, according to Secretary of State’s office

8:23 p.m.: Northmont, Brookville school levies passing, only absentee ballots in so far.

8:20 p.m.: Huber Heights School levy failing 62-38 with just absentee ballots cast.

8:15 p.m.: Montgomery County Auditor Karl Keith is leading in his re-election bid 60-40 percent with just absentee votes in.

8:05 p.m.: AP says Mike Turner, Jim Jordan, Steve Chabot and John Boehner re-elected to their congressional seats.

8 p.m.:Montgomery County Human Services levy passing with 64 percent of the vote, only absentee votes in so far

7:50 p.m.: With just absentee votes counted so far, state Reps. Fred Strahorn, Mike Henne, Jim Butler all winning big over challengers.

7:45 p.m.: With 9% of the vote in, Incumbent Montgomery County Commission candidate Dan Foley has 50.58 percent of the vote. Former Miami Twp. Mike Nolan has 40 percent and former Dayton Mayor Gary Leitzell has 10 percent.

Related Stories