VIDEO: Congressman Turner honors police, Dayton shooting victims at Capitol

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Congressman Turner honors police, Dayton shooting victims at U.S. Capitol

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

During a Monday night session of the U.S. House of Representives, Dayton-area Congressman Mike Turner paid tribute to the Dayton police officers who stopped the mass shooter on Aug. 4 in the Oregon District.

Flanked by Congressmen Warren Davidson, R-Troy; Jim Jordan, R-Urbana, Steve Chabot, R-Cincinnati and the other members of the Ohio congressional delegation, Turner called the officers heroes.

“Within 32 seconds of the shooter opening fire, Dayton Police took down the shooter. Let me be clear, the officers didn’t receive the call in 32 seconds, they didn’t show up in 32 seconds. They killed him in 32 seconds,” Turner said. “Even with the Dayton Police officers incredible heroism, nine innocent civilians were killed and 27 injured.”

Turner’s come just hours after the six officers were awarded the Medal of Valor by President Donald Trump.


The six officers, Sgt. William C. Knight, Vincent Carter, David Denlinger, Ryan Nabel, Brian Rolfes and Jeremy Campbell were in the House chamber during Turner’s comments, along with Dayton Mayor Nan Whaley.

“Let’s work together to pass bipartisan bills that actually have a likelihood of becoming law and making our country safer,” Turner said.

RELATED: Mayor Whaley calls on Senate to pass background checks bill

Columbus-area Congresswoman Joyce Beatty, a Dayton native, read the names of the nine people killed in the Oregon District shooting - Derrick Fudge, 57; Lois Oglesby, 27; Saeed Saleh, 38; Logan Turner, 30; Nicholas Cumer, 25; Thomas McNichols, 25; Beatrice Warren-Curtis, 36; Monica Brickhouse, 39; and Megan Betts, 22.

Turner ended his comments with 32 seconds of silence for the victims.