New mayors elected for Englewood, Riverside; Trotwood too close to call

Thomas Franz, candidate Englewood Mayor 2019
Thomas Franz, candidate Englewood Mayor 2019

Voters elected new mayors Tuesday for several area cities, including Riverside and Englewood, according to final, unofficial election results.

It’s unclear, however, if Trotwood will join that list. Challenger Yvette Page had two more votes than incumbent Mayor Mary McDonald (1,847 to 1,845) after election night vote-counting, likely leading to an automatic recount if the margin stays that close after provisional ballots are tallied.


A main theme in that race was how best to help Trotwood residents rebuild from an EF4 tornado that damaged homes across the city and displaced thousands of people.

“Nobody thought I had a chance in this race at all, but I did,” Page said Tuesday night. “Everybody thought I didn’t have the experience, but what they didn’t know was that I had the history. I had Trotwood being here for 41 years. I knew my community, I knew what the tornado did.”

McDonald did not return calls seeking comment Tuesday night.


Trotwood Mayor Mary McDonald is facing a re-election challenge from City Councilwoman Yvette Page
Trotwood Mayor Mary McDonald is facing a re-election challenge from City Councilwoman Yvette Page

In Riverside, political outsider Pete Williams received 1,674 votes — more than the other three candidates combined — according to final, unofficial results from the Montgomery County Board of Elections.

Williams, director of advancement at Carroll High School, was the only one of four candidates for the job who hasn’t served on city council. Williams will replace Mayor Bill Flaute, who didn’t run for re-election.

Pete Williams
Pete Williams

“From the time I pulled petitions to run in July, the overwhelming thing I heard was that people wanted change,” Williams said Tuesday. “I want to get Riverside better connected to the region.”

Englewood Vice Mayor Thomas Franz also won by a wide margin to become Englewood’s next mayor, beating Mike Klingler 1,687 to 713, according to election night results. Franz will replace outgoing Mayor Patricia Burnside.

“Thank you, thank you, thank you,” Franz said to voters. “Thank you for showing confidence in me and my fellow council.”


Beavercreek directly elected a mayor for the first time in its nearly 40-year history. Previously, the highest vote-getter became mayor. Voters kept Mayor Bob Stone in the job with 4,408 votes, compared to 3,692 for Councilwoman Julie Vann, according to final, unofficial results from the Greene County Board of Elections.

Incumbent Brookville Mayor Chuck Letner fended off challenger Don Shaffer by a wide margin. Letner received 724 votes to Shaffer’s 344.

Letner told the Dayton Daily News during his campaign that his No. 1 priority is “rebuilding and redeveloping the areas affected by the Memorial Day tornadoes.”

In Other News