Mike Turner beats Gasper for 10th district congressional seat; Gasper declares 2020 rematch

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

caption arrowCaption
Mike Turner thanks voters after being re-elected to the 10th Congressional District.

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Republicans kept each of the four U.S. House seats in the Dayton region, fighting off challenges from Democrats who sought to ride a hoped-for “blue-wave” into office.

U.S. Rep. Mike Turner, R-Dayton, will return to Congress for the ninth time to represent Ohio’s 10th District, the AP said.

Theresa Gasper, the Democrat in the race, pledged to return on the ballot in 2020.

Turner, the former Dayton mayor, bested Gasper, a Beavercreek businesswoman. Turner won 56 percent to 42.1 percent, according to unofficial results.

“I want to thank the people of the Miami Valley and the 10th Congressional District for their support,” Turner said. “This has been a great day for democracy. People have poured out to vote across the country.”

Gasper said she was “honored to have had the opportunity to run for this congressional seat and the chance to represent my home, even though the results were not in our favor.”

“After tonight, our work continues, and I hope that many more join our fight,” Gasper said in a statement.

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

caption arrowCaption
Turner thanks his supporters at Watch Party

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

caption arrowCaption
10th Congressional District candidate Theresa Gasper talks about her first bid for congress.

Credit: DaytonDailyNews

Chabot vs. Pureval

U.S. Rep. Steve Chabot, R-Cincinnati, beat Democrat Aftab Pureval. Chabot led Pureval 51.6 percent to 46.6 percent in unofficial results.

The district includes all of Warren County and most of Cincinnati and Hamilton County. Chabot shellacked Pureval in Warren County, where the Democrat had sought to make inroads with suburban voters. Unofficial results show Chabot led Pureval there 65.8 percent to 32.1 percent.

Other races

Elsewhere in southwest Ohio, Congressmen Warren Davidson and Jim Jordan will return to the U.S. House in January, the AP projected.

Davidson, R-Troy, represents Springfield in the 4th District and won his election in the 8th District over Vanessa Enoch. The Republican was re-elected to his his second full term to the congressional seat.

Jordan, R-Urbana, won re-election in the 8th District over Janet Garrett.

Neither race was expected to be competitive, though early Jordan faced questions over whether he knew of but did not report sexual misconduct by a team doctor while a coach on Ohio State University’s wrestling team. Jordan vehemently denies the claims.

Still, the allegations allowed Garrett to raise money and run television ads across multiple media markets in the oddly shaped district — an unusual luxury for a Democrat in the district.

The 4th Congressional District stretches from Champaign County all the way to Elyria, near Cleveland. The district also includes Shelby, Auglaize and Logan counties.

Davidson was first elected to the seat after he won a special election in June 2016 to replace former House speaker John Boehner. The seat has been held by a Republican since redistricting moved the congressional district to Southwest Ohio and the Miami Valley in 1970.

The 8th Congressional District stretches from the shores of Grand Lake St. Mary’s along its northern borders to just before the northern portion of the Interstate 275 loop in Greater Cincinnati and encompasses all of Butler, Clark, Darke, Miami and Preble counties and the southernmost portion of Mercer County.

Staff Writer Michael Pitman and contributing writers Lucas Gonzalez and Natalie Jones contributed reporting.

About the Author