What is the House Freedom Caucus? Who is in it?

The U.S. House of Representatives’ Freedom Caucus played a critical role in the failure this month of House Speaker Paul Ryan’s proposed American Healthcare Act, which President Donald Trump’s supported. Now Trump is taking aim at the conservative caucus, threatening to fight it’s members along with Democrats in the 2018 mid-term elections.

RELATED: President Trump issues threat to local Republicans, Freedom Caucus

Here’s some things to know about the House Freedom Caucus.

1. U.S. Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Urbana, was the founding chairman and he along with Rep. Warren Davidson, R-Troy, are members.

RELATED: Local Congressman Jim Jordan pushing ‘clean repeal’ of Obamacare

2. It was formed in 2015 by Jordan and other conservatives, some of whom were aligned with the tea party.

3. Pressure from the caucus was instrumental in the 2015 resignation of then-House Speaker John Boehner, R-West Chester Twp.

RELATED: Boehner: Some in GOP caucus ‘unrealistic’

4. The current chairman is Rep. Mark Meadows, R-North Carolina, who led the charge in shutting down the federal government in 2013.

ExploreRELATED: Echoes of ‘96 in current shutdown

5. Rep. Ted Poe, R-Texas, resigned from the caucus over its opposition to health care reform, leaving about three dozen Republicans as members.

RELATED: Bitter GOP finger-pointing clouds path for Trump agenda

RELATED: Trump to Congress: Pass health plan or risk loss in 2018


About the Author