Dayton’s Obi Toppin dunks against Rhode Island on Tuesday, Feb. 11, 2020, at UD Arena. David Jablonski/Staff

Dayton Agonis Club announces annual award winners

The Dayton Agonis Club will not hold its annual awards banquet because of the coronavirus pandemic, but this month it announced a list of people it will honor for success in Dayton-area athletics. It’s the 67th year it has presented the awards.

Here are the 2020 winners:

Madeline Westbeld: The Fairmont senior was named Ms. Basketball in Ohio and will attend Notre Dame. She received the Beno Keiter/Russ Guerra Memorial Award as the outstanding high school athlete in the Dayton area.

Tony Augspurger: After 33 years as the head boys basketball coach at Twin Valley South, he tired with a record of 451-291. He’s the winner of the Mike Kelly/Don Donoher Coach’s Award.

Obi Toppin: The Dayton Flyers basketball star swept the national player of the year awards. He receives the Joe Gavin/Joe Quinn Memorial Award, which recognizes UD’s standout athlete.

Loudon Love: He led the Wright State basketball team with 16.3 points and 9.7 rebounds per game. He was named Horizon League Player of the Year and is the winner of the Dr. Dave Reese Memorial Award, which honors the outstanding Wright State athlete of the year.

Robert Landers: The Wayne graduate appeared in 52 games for the Ohio State Buckeyes the last four seasons. He receives the Dave Hall Memorial Award, which honors the outstanding accomplishments of a Dayton-area athlete attending school outside the Dayton area.

Sam Sloman: The Miami Redhawks placekicker made 26 of 30 field goals last season. He wins the Bill Gunlock Award, which goes to the top Miami University athlete of the year.

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.