Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association D-II All-Area teams

Joe Cochran of Springfield High School, Graham’s Mitch Moore and Graham Shore of Miami East are the Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association wrestlers of the year in their respective divisions. All are seniors.

Coaches of the year are Mark Peck (Butler), Bill Miller (Valley View) and Mark Rose (Miami East).

Cochran compiled a 35-3 record and placed third at 220 pounds in the D-I state meet at Ohio State University’s Schottenstein Center in Columbus. That matched the highest state placing ever for a Springfield wrestler, including former North and South members. Jim Picolo of Springfield North also placed third at 119 pounds in the 1982 Class AAA state meet.

A rare three-time state qualifier for the Wildcats, Cochron also was fourth at 195 as a junior.

Moore (43-5) became a four-time state champion by winning the 145-pound D-II title. He was the 31st all-time Ohioan to do so and ninth from Graham. His previous D-II state wins were at 132, 126 and 113. He was among four Falcons to win state titles as Graham also won its 18th consecutive D-II state team title.

Moore has signed with Virginia Tech.

Shore (53-1) won the 120 title in D-III. He placed at state all four seasons for Miami East, also finishing third as a junior (120) and sophomore (113) and sixth as a freshman (106). He will wrestle at the United States Air Force Academy.

He also was third at state in 120 as a junior and third at 113 as a sophomore, sixth at 106

The GMVWA scholarship recipients were Dawon Smith (Meadowdale), Ronald Pietro (Butler), Alex Isbrandt (Miami East) and Anastasia Bair (Centerville).

GMVWA SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS: Dawon Smith, Meadowdale; Ronald Pietro, Butler; Alex Isbrandt, Miami East; Anastasia Bair, Centerville.

The following are the Division I Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association All-Area teams.

» RELATED: GMVWA D-I All-Area teams


First team: 106, Trace Braun, fr., Graham, 30-12, state qualifier; 113, Tanner Jordan, jr., Graham, 44-3, state champ; 120, Alek Martin, fr., Graham, 31-7, 2nd state; 126, Nick Moore, fr., Graham, 35-6, 2nd state; 132, Wade Monebrake, jr., Eaton, 48-3, 2nd state; 138, J.D. Stickley, sr., Graham, 26-2, 3rd state; 145, Mitch Moore, sr., Graham, 43-5, state champ;

» RELATED: GMVWA D-III All-Area teams

152, Joey Sanchez, sr., Graham, 40-4, state champ; 160, Ryan Thomas, sr., Graham, 44-2, 2nd state; 170, Rocky Jordan, sr., Graham, 42-0, state champ; 182, Hunter Johns, jr., Chaminade Julienne, 42-6, 4th state; 195, Stone Day, sr., Valley View, 38-1, state champ; 220, Johnny Shafer, jr., Graham, 45-5, 3rd state; 285, Khrizdon Van Hoose, sr., Graham, 14-12.

»RELATED: All-Area boys basketball

Wrestler of the year: Mitch Moore, Graham

Coach of the year: Bill Miller, Valley View

Matt poll champ: Graham

» RELATED: Bellbrook AD to resign from position in June

Second team: 106, Jorden Zigo, so., Trotwood-Madison; 113, Joey Dima, jr., Valley View; 120, Bryce Davis, sr., Kenton Ridge; 126, Isaiah Wortham, so., CJ; 132, Ayyoub Muhammed, jr., Thurgood Marshall; 138, Ben Sherrill, sr., Bellbrook; 145, Micah Marshall, sr., CJ; 152, David Frederick, fr., CJ; 160, Isaac Allen, sr., Wilmington; 170, Gage Johnson, so., Franklin; 182, Andrew Shaffer, so., Graham; 195, Gage Braun, sr., Graham; 220, Bruno Pattison, jr., Bellefontaine; 285, Seth Bowman, jr., Eaton.

»RELATED: All-Area girls basketball

Special mention: 106, Ethan Mayo, sr., Valley View; 113, Amir Harris, fr., Trotwood; 120, Tyler Woods, fr., Franklin; 126, Sean Conaway, jr., Carroll; 132, Thomas McGraw, sr., CJ; 138, Cole Houser, sr., Ben Logan; 145, Caleb Blake, sr., Tippecanoe; 152, Evan Harris, sr., Franklin; 160, Seth Hodapp, sr., Eaton; 170, Blake Coy, jr., Carroll; 182, Spencer Reynolds, sr., Eaton; 195, C.J. Cook, sr., Bellefontaine; 220, Jamen Hill, so., Carroll; 285, Trent Wilson, sr., Valley View.

»RELATED: Bellbrook lineman picks U.S. Air Force Academy

Honorable mention: 106, Branson Anway, so., Graham; Saa'lih Muhammed, fr., Thurgood Marshall; Owen Hewitt, fr., Eaton; 120, Sean Conway, jr., Carroll; Justin Mills, so., Valley View; Blake Ballard, so., Tippecanoe; Gaige Reeves, jr., Bellefontaine; 126, Kyson Cook, so., Kenton Ridge; Keylin Miller, so., Thurgood Marshall; Matt Mattamana, jr., Carroll; 132, Bryce Stamps, so., Kenton Ridge; Joel Abbott, so., Ben Logan; Kevin Myers, so., Valley View; Isaiah Stickley, so., Graham;

»RELATED: Trotwood-Madison AD announces resignation

138, Logan Raney, jr., Franklin; Nicholas Machuca, so., CJ; Josh Collins, jr., Thurgood Marshall; DeAngelo Edwards, sr., Ponitz; 145, Steele Boysel, so., Ben Logan; Kole Deel, jr., Valley View; Jawan Scott, jr., Thurgood Marshall; Travis Hall, so., Meadowdale; 152, Caleb Cox, so., Valley View; Jenisus Thompson, jr., Thurgood Marshall; Greg Campbell, sr., Ponitz; Noah Yoesting, so., Bellefontaine; 160, Trenton Randall, jr., Carroll; Xodus Thompson, jr., Thurgood Marshall; Massai Smith, sr., Ponitz;

»RELATED: Northmont boys basketball coach resigns

170, Noah Clark, so., Ben Logan; Hunter Ernst, sr., Valley View; Dawson Miller, sr., Bellefontaine; Rocky Stark, sr., CJ; 182, Jared Kremer, so., Franklin; Garrett Gross, so., Bellefontaine; Christian Meyers, jr., Valley View; 195, Christian Michael, sr., Eaton; Hunter Lester, sr., Franklin; Bennet Pelquin, sr., Bellbrook; 220, Perry Gardiner, sr., Valley View; Tyler Schmidt, sr., Eaton; Anthony Barhorst, jr., Bellbrook; 285, Elijah Cochran, sr., CJ; Nate Glossip, sr., Franklin; Braden Jacobs, sr., Bellefontaine.

About the Author