Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association D-I All-Area teams

Joe Cochran of Springfield High School, Graham’s Mitch Moore and Graham Shore of Miami East are the Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association wrestlers of the year in their respective divisions. All are seniors.

Coaches of the year are Mark Peck (Butler), Bill Miller (Valley View) and Mark Rose (Miami East).

Cochran compiled a 35-3 record and placed third at 220 pounds in the D-I state meet at Ohio State University’s Schottenstein Center in Columbus. That matched the highest state placing ever for a Springfield wrestler, including former North and South members. Jim Picolo of Springfield North also placed third at 119 pounds in the 1982 Class AAA state meet.

A rare three-time state qualifier for the Wildcats, Cochron also was fourth at 195 as a junior.

Moore (43-5) became a four-time state champion by winning the 145-pound D-II title. He was the 31st all-time Ohioan to do so and ninth from Graham. His previous D-II state wins were at 132, 126 and 113. He was among four Falcons to win state titles as Graham also won its 18th consecutive D-II state team title.

Moore has signed with Virginia Tech.

Shore (53-1) won the 120 title in D-III. He placed at state all four seasons for Miami East, also finishing third as a junior (120) and sophomore (113) and sixth as a freshman (106). He will wrestle at the United States Air Force Academy.

He also was third at state in 120 as a junior and third at 113 as a sophomore, sixth at 106

The GMVWA scholarship recipients were Dawon Smith (Meadowdale), Ronald Pietro (Butler), Alex Isbrandt (Miami East) and Anastasia Bair (Centerville).

GMVWA SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS: Dawon Smith, Meadowdale; Ronald Pietro, Butler; Alex Isbrandt, Miami East; Anastasia Bair, Centerville.

The following are the Division I Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association All-Area teams.

» RELATED: GMVWA D-II All-Area teams


First team: 106, Matt Motter, fr., Butler, 33-9; 113, Josh Suddeth, jr., Butler, 25-8; 120, Mason Kleinberg, so., Springboro, 44-5, state qualifier; 126, Bailey Suddeth, jr., Butler, 30-9; 132, Ronnie Pietro, sr., Butler, 44-6, 4th state; 138, Gavin Bell, so., Beavercreek, 43-5, state qualifiers; 145, Austin Mullins, fr., Wayne, 28-6, 7th state;

152, Drew Wiechers, jr., Centerville, 37-6, 6th state; 160, Nevan Snodgrass, so., Fairmont, 29-6, 4th state; 170, Ethan Cyrette, sr., Butler, 40-13; 182, Jansen Love, sr., Butler, 34-8, state qualifier; 195, Dylan Moran, sr., Northmont, 31-5, state qualifier; 220, Joe Cochran, sr., Springfield, 35-3, 3rd state; 285, Jacob Padilla, so., Wayne, 38-9, 8th state.

» RELATED: GMVWA D-III All-Area teams

Wrestler of the year: Joe Cochran, Springfield

Coach of the year: Mark Peck, Butler

Matt poll champ: Butler

»RELATED: All-Area boys basketball

Second team: 106, Kaileigh Nuessgen, so., Beavercreek; 113, Collin Lovett, so., Miamisburg; 120, Logan Hoskins, so., Butler; 126, Joe Pascale, sr., Troy; 132, Andrew Knick, so., Northmont; 138, Gavin Fogel, jr., Fairmont; 145, Ian Heiland, sr., Beavercreek; 152, Jestin Love, so., Butler; 160, Shane Shoop, jr., Troy; 170, Jacob Yost, sr., Springfield; 182, Sebastian Beachler, jr., Miamisburg; 195, Nick Coyle, jr., Butler; 220, Bradley Smith, so., Beavercreek; 285, Jacob Charette, sr., Centerville.

» RELATED: Bellbrook AD to resign from position in June

Special mention: 106, Colin Mellot, fr., Northmont; 113, Kyah Patrick, so., Beavercreek; 120, Nathan Shatto, jr., Miamisburg; 126, Hunter Donnan, sr., Tecumseh; 132, Cyle Wells, so., Tecumseh; 138, Matt Verdes, so., Butler; 145, Cameron Carnevale, jr., Miamisburg; 152, Alec Hall, so., Tecumseh; 160, Mark Calcaterra, sr., Springboro; 170, Jacob Stamcoff, jr., Springboro; 182, Jacob Kowalski, so., Springboro; 195, Jared Kleff, sr., Wayne; 220, Jaeden Crowe, jr., Fairmont; 285, Jon Hardkin, so., Miamisburg.

»RELATED: All-Area girls basketball

Honorable mention: 106, Michael Gust, so., Springboro; 113, Mitchell Francis, so., Troy; Reid Salzer, sr., Springboro; 120, Drew Altick, jr., Fairmont; Trevor Landon, jr., Fairborn; Kanden Pitman, fr., Xenia; Logan Brown, so., Centerville; 126, Michael Maas, sr., Fairmont; Tristan Hostetter, sr., Piqua; Grant Middleton, so., Miamisburg; Phoenix Robinson, jr., Fairborn; Nathan Keaton, fr., Springfield; 132, Sam Herndon, sr., Piqua; Jacob Boulton, sr., Springboro; Evan Overholser, so., Fairmont; Desmond Diggs, so., Xenia; Avery Bair, so., Centerville;

»RELATED: Bellbrook lineman picks U.S. Air Force Academy

138, Lucas Rodgers, so., Tecumseh; Carlos Quintero, so., Troy; Peyton Robinson, jr., Fairborn; Alex Clemens, sr., Centerville; 145, Bobby Robbins, jr., Fairmont; Ezra Smith, sr., Northmont; Michael Chitsaz, sr., Springboro; Phillip Nared, so., Xenia; Michael Brandt, jr., Butler; 152, Will Coffield, so., Springboro; Trent Williams, so., Fairmont; Jordan Hardrick, sr., Wayne; 160, Mason Motter, jr., Butler; Kayden Schmidt, jr., Centerville; Jaden Hardrick, so., Wayne; 170, Tommy Rowe, jr., Tecumseh; Caleb Ueckert, sr., Fairmont; Deaglen Pyle, so., Centerville; Reece Blackmore, sr., Beavercreek;

»RELATED: Trotwood-Madison AD announces resignation

»RELATED: Northmont boys basketball coach resigns

182, Ali Salih, so., Fairmont; Conner Bradley, so., Fairborn; John Hammond, jr., Beavercreek; 195, Elijah Woodroof, jr., Fairmont; Tressel Cochran, fr., Springfield; Austin Stevenson, jr., Beavercreek; 220, Bryan Heyward, jr., Northmont; Gavin Murphy, jr., Fairborn; James Jackson, sr., Xenia; Kevin Johnson, so., Springboro; Kameron Block, sr., Troy; 285, Wade Humphrey, so., Springboro; Peyton Bartley, jr., Xenia; Jacob Goetz, so., Centerville; Greg Asher, jr., Tecumseh; Josh Walls, sr., Beavercreek.

About the Author