Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association D-III All-Area teams

Joe Cochran of Springfield High School, Graham’s Mitch Moore and Graham Shore of Miami East are the Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association wrestlers of the year in their respective divisions. All are seniors.

Coaches of the year are Mark Peck (Butler), Bill Miller (Valley View) and Mark Rose (Miami East).

»RELATED: GMVWA D-I All-Area teams

Cochran compiled a 35-3 record and placed third at 220 pounds in the D-I state meet at Ohio State University’s Schottenstein Center in Columbus. That matched the highest state placing ever for a Springfield wrestler, including former North and South members. Jim Picolo of Springfield North also placed third at 119 pounds in the 1982 Class AAA state meet.

A rare three-time state qualifier for the Wildcats, Cochron also was fourth at 195 as a junior.

»RELATED: GMVWA D-II All-Area teams

» RELATED: Bellbrook AD to resign from position in June

Moore (43-5) became a four-time state champion by winning the 145-pound D-II title. He was the 31st all-time Ohioan to do so and ninth from Graham. His previous D-II state wins were at 132, 126 and 113. He was among four Falcons to win state titles as Graham also won its 18th consecutive D-II state team title.

Moore has signed with Virginia Tech.

»RELATED: All-Area girls basketball

Shore (53-1) won the 120 title in D-III. He placed at state all four seasons for Miami East, also finishing third as a junior (120) and sophomore (113) and sixth as a freshman (106). He will wrestle at the United States Air Force Academy.

He also was third at state in 120 as a junior and third at 113 as a sophomore, sixth at 106

The GMVWA scholarship recipients were Dawon Smith (Meadowdale), Ronald Pietro (Butler), Alex Isbrandt (Miami East) and Anastasia Bair (Centerville).

»RELATED: All-Area boys basketball

The following are the Division III Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association All-Area teams.

GMVWA SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS: Dawon Smith, Meadowdale; Ronald Pietro, Butler; Alex Isbrandt, Miami East; Anastasia Bair, Centerville.


First team: 106, Olivia Shore, fr., Miami East, 34-7; 113, Ethan Turner, so., Troy Christian, 32-3, state champ; 120, Graham Shore, sr., Miami East, 53-1, state champ; 126, Tommy Hoskins, sr., Legacy Christian, 20-1, 3rd state; 132, Jacob Edwards, sr., Troy Christian, 46-2, 2nd state; 138, Alex Isbrandt, sr., Miaimi East, 57-3, 4th state; 145, Zane Strubler, sr., Miami East, 45-9;

152, Hayden Pummel, fr., Indian Lake, 30-8; 160, Dylan Knotts, sr., Indian Lake, 42-8; 170, Dustin Knapp, sr., Mechanicsburg, 41-9, 8th state; 182, Connor Dixon, sr., Indian Lake, 50-5, 5th state; 195, Levi Morrison, jr., Greenon, 32-10; 220, Brenden Dalton, jr., Miami East, 46-7; 285, Jeffrey Ware, sr., Versailles, 48-12, 7th state.

Wrestler of the year: Graham Shore, Miami East

Coach of the year: Mark Rose, Miami East

Matt poll champ: Versailles

Second team: 106, Caleb Schroer, so., Troy Christian; 113, Cael Vanderhorst, fr., Covington; 120, Jacob Poling, jr., Versailles; 126, Devan Hendricks, jr., Greeneview; 132, Preston Platfoot, sr., Versailles; 138, Jared Ford, sr., Troy Christian; 145, Dylan Schenck, jr., Milton-Union; 152, Keringten Martin, jr., Covington; 160, Duncan Cooper, fr., Covington; 170, Craig Montgomery, so., Troy Christian; 182, Damon Beatty, sr., Troy Christian; 195, Gage Kerrigan, so., Covington; 220, Cole Mefford, sr., Indian Lake; 285, Chase Jordan, jr., Greeneview.

»RELATED: Trotwood-Madison AD announces resignation

Special mention: 106, Luke Stroud, fr., Mechanicsburg; 113, Trevor Huber, fr., Versailles; 120, Peyton Brown, so., Milton-Union; 126, Kaleb Nickels, so., Miami East; 132, Clint Brown, fr., Legacy Christian; 138, Kyle Wuebker, sr., Versailles; 145, Lane Mefford, fr., Indian Lake; 152, Travis Ferguson, sr., Miami East; 160, Jaron Patterson, so., Mechanicsburg; 170, Tyler Gigandet, jr., Versailles; 182, Matthew Welker, jr., Miami East; 195, Isaac Grilliot, so., Versailles; 220, Nick Baker, jr., Troy Christian; 285, Jon Mitchell, so., Brookville.

»RELATED: Northmont boys basketball coach resigns

Honorable mention: 106, Kellan Anderson, fr., Covington; Teagan Hendricks, fr., Greeneview; Kobe Epperly, fr., Versailles; Nate Cummings, fr., Indian Lake; 113, Dakota Lay, so., Mechanicsburg; Aaron Beckman, jr., Milton-Union; 120, Peyton Brown, so., Milton-Union; 126, Cael Bey, so., Versailles; Cameron Chamberlin, sr., Indian Lake; Colten Jacobe, fr., Milton-Union; 132, Chase Trainer, fr., Greenon; Ben Stroud, sr., Mechanicsburg; 138, Kameron Cox, fr., Greenon; Isaac Bryant, so., Mechanicsburg; 145, Austin Awan, fr., Troy Christian; 182, Justin Eyler, sr., Brookville; 195, Caden Coleman, fr., Mechanicsburg.

About the Author