Trotwood’s Ra’veion Hargrove had 93 yards rushing and scored. Trotwood-Madison defeated Dunbar 64-26 in a D-III, Region 12 high school football playoff semifinal at Butler on Friday, Nov. 10, 2017. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF
Photo: Staff Writer
Photo: Staff Writer

High School Football: 7 things you need to know about Friday’s regional finals

Regional titles will be awarded to 28 football teams across Ohio on Friday night as state semifinalists for all seven divisions are decided.

Below are 7 things you need to know about Friday’s regional finals:

One of two 7s: Not surprisingly, the first two rounds of the playoffs have been dominated by the top seeds. Don’t tell that to Chaminade-Julienne. The Eagles are one of only two No. 7 seeds to advance to the regional finals. Duncan Falls Philo is the other. There are zero No. 8 seeds remaining. CJ faces No. 1 Trotwood-Madison in the Division III, Region 12 final. Of the 56 teams left, 42 are seeded 1, 2 or 3.

»RELATED: Regional finals schedule

Madison breaks through: Of the four teams that qualified for the playoffs for the first time, only the Mohawks have advanced to the third round. The Mohawks face off against West Jefferson in the Division V, Region 20 finals.

 »RELATED: Regional semifinal recap

Mighty MAC: The Division VI, Region 24 matchup between Marion Local and Coldwater of the Midwest Athletic Conference is off the charts. The two programs have combined to 140 playoff wins and 15 state championships, 11 of which have come since 2007. Both teams have made the final four in nine of the last 10 years. Marion Local owns the top all-time playoff winning percentage (87.3, 69-10). Coldwater is fourth (81.6, 71-16). The Flyers topped the Cavaliers 13-7 in Week 3.

Marion Local defender Tyler Prenger (2) takes down Coldwater’s Caleb Dippold. Marion Local defeated host Coldwater 13-7 in the Week 3 high school football game on Friday, Sept. 8, 2017. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF
Photo: Staff Writer

Mighty MAC 2: The Division VII, Region 28 final between Delphos St. John’s and Minster also is a rematch of two MAC schools. Minster topped DSJ 41-14 in Week 3. The two schools have combined for 80 playoff wins and eight state championships.


Still perfect: Trotwood-Madison (12-0) is one of 20 undefeated teams still alive in the playoffs. Only two regional finals feature undefeated teams facing off against each other – Steubenville vs. Perry in Division IV, Region 13 and Rootstown vs. Kirtland in Division VI, Region 21.


Streaky: Coldwater owns the longest active streak of qualifying for the playoffs at 21 straight years (1997-2017). Mogadore has qualified 18 straight years. Alter and Steubenville (16 years) and Clinton-Massie and Akron Manchester (15 years) are next on the list. The longest all-time streak is 22 years by Cleveland St. Ignatius (1988-2009). 


Title town: A state championship this season would move Marion Local into second place on the all time list in Ohio. Cleveland St. Ignatius tops the list with 11 titles, followed by Moeller and Marion Local with nine apiece. Newark Catholic and Youngstown Cardinal Mooney have won eight each, while MAC schools Coldwater, Delphos St. John’s, Henry and Versailles have won six apiece. Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary also has won six titles.