HS Roundup 2/19: Westbeld, Bartley lead Fairmont past Springfield

Madeline Westbeld and Madison Bartley scored 16 of Fairmont’s 18 points in the fourth quarter to help Fairmont pull away in a 61-39 win versus Springfield in Division I girls basketball sectional tournament action at Troy on Tuesday.

Westbeld netted 15 of her 21 points in the second half and Bartley finished with 20 points to pace Fairmont.

Sophomore Mickayla Perdue scored her 1,000th career point, leading Springfield in the loss with 27 points.

Fairmont advances to face Beavercreek in a sectional final on Monday at Troy, 6 p.m. Beavercreek knocked off Northmont 66-48 in the other sectional game at Troy.

See below for a full list of Tuesday’s sectional tournament scores.

Boys Basketball

Central Buckeye Conference All-League Awards: Cole Jones of Ben Logan, Jack Clement of Bellefontaine, Tyler Eberhart of Kenton Ridge and Trey Woodyard of London were named as co-players of the year. Easton Lewis of Tecumseh, Jackie Santa-Emma of Jonathan Alder and Isaac Siemon of Springfield Shawnee earned first team honors in the Kenton Trail. Reid Taylor of Urbana, Evan Noffke of Northwestern, Austin Parker of Indian Lake, Brevin King of Graham and Preston Crabtree of North Union were selected for first team in the Mad River.

Cross County Conference All-Conference Awards: Ethan Conley of Franklin Monroe headlined the awards with player of the year honors and Tony Augspurger of Twin Valley South was named coach of the year. Conner Crist of Franklin Monroe was tabbed to the second team and Jordan Rhoades to the third team. Willie Bowman and Jayden Bassler of Twin Valley South earned first team honors, Nate Osborn was picked to the second team and Cade Cottingim third team.

Girls Basketball

Central Buckeye Conference All-League Awards: Mikala Morris of Kenton Ridge and Journey Blevins of North Union were picked as players of the year. Morris also became the school’s all-time leading scorer in Kenton Ridge’s 56-26 sectional tournament victory versus Springfield Shawnee on Tuesday. In the Mad River Lynzee Cronkleton and Savannah Pavoni of Ben Logan, Katelyn Nash of Graham, Kyndall Berner of Northwestern and Alaina Lyons of Urbana were named to the first team. Corinne Thomas and Presley Griffitts of Tecumseh, Malorie Colwell of London, Aubrey Stolly of Bellefontaine and Sydney Bourquin of Jonathan Alder rounded out the Kenton Trail first team.

Cross County Conference All-Conference Awards: Tri-Village had four players (Maddie and Meghan Downing, Emma Printz, Lissa Siler) earn first team honors and Brad Gray was tabbed as the coach of the year. Miami East’s Morgan Haney was picked for player of the year.

Midwest Athletic Conference All-Conference Awards: Minster’s Ivy Wolf was named the player of the year and Mike Wiss the coach of the year. Teammates Courtney Prenger earned first team honors and Janae Hoying and Demaris Wolf were tabbed to the second team.


Boys Basketball

Tuesday’s Results

Anna 82, Russia 66: Doseck (A) 22; York (R) 15.

Troy 69, St. Marys 52

Monday’s Results

Fenwick 67, Clinton Massie 48: Braun (F) 18.

Southeastern 64, Greenon 58: Downing (G) 23; Bertemes (S) 22.

Girls Basketball

Tuesday’s Results


Division I

Beavercreek 68, Northmont 47

Fairmont 61, Springfield 39: Westbeld (F) 21; Perdue (S) 27.

Lakota West 71, Withrow 19

Loveland 66, Winton Woods 44

McAuley 51, Lakota East 14: Smith (M) 12; Honigford (LE) 4.

Sycamore 53, St. Ursula 21

Tecumseh 45, Lebanon 39: Griffitts (T) 16.

Wayne 75, West Carrollton 18

Division II

Fenwick 53, Badin 46: Daly (F) 15; Maher, Broermann (B) 13.

Franklin 49, Thurgood Marshall 26

Indian Hill 40, Norwood 36

Kenton Ridge 56, Springfield Shawnee 26

Roger Bacon 60, Taft 38

Tippecanoe 55, Trotwood 47

Division III

Arcanum 49, Bethel 35: Gray (A) 15; Gray (B) 16.

Clark Montessori 55, Gamble Montessori 44

East Clinton 57, Clermont Northeastern 46

Purcell Marian 65, St. Bernard 12

Williamsburg 61, North College Hill 41

Waynesville 65, National Trail 41

Division IV

Bradford 52, Catholic Central 40: Keener (B) 17; Peterson (CC) 25.

Cedarville 63, Felicity Franklin 26

Crestview 60, Continental 22

Delphos Jefferson 48, Fort Jennings 35

Fairlawn 62, Triad 43: Heath (F) 26; C. LeVan (T) 21.

Fort Loramie 84, Mississinawa Valley 12: Meiring (FL) 13.

Lima Central Catholic 63, Ridgemont 46

Mechanicsburg 50, Jackson Center 18: Kessler (JC) 6; Forrest (M) 15.

Southeastern 54, Fayetteville Perry 36

Tri-Village 62, Miami Valley 26

Waynesfield 48, Parkway 37


Monday’s Results

GCL Coed Wrestling Tournament

At Fenwick

Team Results: 1. Carroll 238, 2. Chaminade Julienne 231.5, 3. Badin 173, 4. McNicholas 72, 5. Fenwick 60, 6. Roger Bacon 59, 7. Alter 47, 8. Purcell Marian 7.


Contact the Cox Media Group Ohio (Dayton Daily News, Springfield News-Sun and Journal-News) with scores and results as soon as possible after varsity high school athletic contests by email only at sports@coxohio.com. Please include any details from your contest that you would like published along with a contact name and phone number. All printed results will be final scores only.

A daily roundup of high school results will be posted on each paper’s website at:




About the Author