12 to be honored as Women of Excellence by West Chester-Liberty Chamber Alliance

The 17th annual Women of Excellence Awards will be presented Friday at the Cincinnati Marriott North at Union Centre in West Chester Twp.

Launched in 2002, the program honors women who through their careers or volunteerism have “enhanced business, education, culture, philanthropy and provided outstanding service” to the region, according to the West Chester-Liberty Chamber Alliance, which organizes the annual event.

ExploreMORE: 5 women in business you want to follow on social media

This year’s Women of Excellence honorees are: Judi Boyko, Kathy Cook, Judy Horne, Samira Jaweed, Geetha Minton, Barbara Reisen, Julie Shaffer, Marquita Turner, Karen Welch, Joyce Wood, Brenda Yablonsky and Megan Zahneis.

Each woman’s story will be told during the event.

“The 12 amazing women that will be honored this year will be recognized for their service, dedication and unyielding support of the causes they cherish,” said Joe Hinson, the chamber’s president and CEO. “Their impact transcends throughout our region. We look forward to sharing their remarkable stories.”

ExploreMORE: Amazon reportedly chooses second headquarters: What it means for Ohio

The event also features the presentation of The Ethel Moritz Scholarship, which will be awarded to one woman for post-secondary education.

About the Author