Greene County approves bankruptcy plan to get money from Purdue Pharma

Greene County commissioners approved a resolution Tuesday that allowed the county to remain able to get money from the drug company Purdue Pharma.

Purdue Pharma is being sued, accused of contributing to the opioid crisis that left millions of people nationwide dead from the effects of drug addiction. It has filed for Chapter 11 bankruptcy.

The resolution in Greene County accepts the Chapter 11 bankruptcy plan and authorizes Greene County administrator Brandon Huddleson to sign the ballot accepting the plan.

Cheri Stout, an attorney for the Greene County Prosecutor’s Office, said the county and townships involved with the lawsuit all received a recommendation to approve the plan.

ExploreLocal governments would get millions in Ohio opioid settlement

The money will not be coming soon, said Huddleson.

Greene and Montgomery counties are just a few of the Ohio counties involved in the One Ohio agreement, which is an effort led by Gov. Mike DeWine and Attorney General Dave Yost to leverage Ohio’s collective might against the drug industry.

Local governments representing more than 80% of the state’s population signed onto the plan in early 2020, including 73 of 88 counties. The state of Ohio has two lawsuits, which are pending in Ross and Madison counties. More than 150 Ohio local governments have cases consolidated in U.S. District Court before Judge Daniel Polster in Cleveland.

ExploreOhio unites to push for settlement in opioid lawsuits

Under the One Ohio agreement, which spells out how money would be divvied up, 11% would be taken off the top for attorney fees and the remaining cash would be divvied up. That results in 30% for local governments, 55% to a new foundation and 15% to the attorney general’s office.

The foundation would be controlled by a 25-member board appointed by state, legislative and local officials. It would spend settlement money to address the opioid epidemic both locally and statewide.

The 118 local jurisdictions signing onto the agreement include the cities of Dayton, Springfield, Middletown and Hamilton and the counties of Butler, Champaign, Clark, Greene, Miami, Montgomery and Warren.

More than 2,600 lawsuits were filed across the U.S. against opioid makers and distributors.

About the Author