Coronavirus concerns cause 14 local voting locations to move

EDITOR’S NOTE: Due to the coronavirus outbreak, the Ohio primary election was moved from March 17. The deadline to vote in the Ohio primary election is April 28. Voters must request an absentee ballot from their county’s board of election if they have not already voted. All absentee ballots mailed in must have a postmark of April 27 to be counted, and all ballots must be received by the boards by May 8 to be counted. Voters can drop off the ballots to board offices in person by 7:30 p.m. April 28. In-person voting will be offered on April 28, but will only occur at boards of elections early voting center and only be available for people with disabilities who require in-person voting and people who do not have a home mailing address. Local election officials say voters need to make sure they include all the required information on absentee ballot request forms and pay close attention to unsolicited request forms they get in the mail. State law allows ballots to be scanned but they cannot be tabulated until 7:30 p.m. April 28.

Some polling locations located in retirement or senior care facilities are moving after direction from Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose in response to the coronavirus

Six polling places have been moved in Montgomery County, four in Warren, two in Darke County, one in Preble County and one in Shelby County

No polling places have moved in Greene, Miami

RELATED: Montgomery County Board of Elections sends cleaning kits to polling places

Currently, the locations being relocated are:


Old Location: 10 Wilmington Place

10 Wilmington Ave. Dayton 45420

New Location: Southview Children and Family Center

25 Thorpe Rd. Dayton 45420

Old Location: Bethany Lutheran- Village Center

6443 Bethany Village Dr.

New Location: Southminster Presbyterian Church

7001 Far Hills Ave. Dayton 45459

Old Location: Brookhaven Conference Center

1 Country Lane Brookville 45309

New Location: Golden Gate Park-Lieber Center

545 Upper Lewisburg Salem Rd., Brookville 45309

Old Location: Friendship Village

5790 Denliger Rd. Trotwood 45426

New Location: Basore Grace Brethren

5675 Basore Rd. Dayton 45415

Old Location: St. Leonard-Franciscan Center

8200 Provincial Way Centerville 45458

New Location: Sinclair College South-South Campus

5800 Clyo Road Centerville 45459

Old Location: Hoover Place Senior Community Center

5407 Hoover Place Dayton 45417

New Location: Canaan Baptist Church

5191 Hoover Ave. Dayton 45417


Old Location: Cedar Village Retirement Community

5467 Cedar Village Drive

New Location: Christ's Church

5165 Western Row Road

Old Location: Mason Christian Village

411 Western Row

New Location: Christ's Church

5165 Western Row Road

Old Location: Otterbein- Phillipi Hall

585 N. SR 741

Armco Park

1223 N SR 741

Old Location: Quaker Heights Care Community

514 High Street

1st Baptist Church

1009 Lytle Road


Old Location: Brethern Home

750 Chestnut Street

New Location: 4-H Youth Building at Darke County Fairgrounds

800 Sweitzer Street

Old Location: Union City Medical Center

622 E Elm Street

New Location: Evangelical United Methodist Church

117 N. Franklin Street


Old Location: United Metodist Church

301 East Main Street

New Location: Valley’s Edge Lodge

8295 St. Route 121


Old Location: Amos Center

2500 North Kuther Road

New Location: Shelby County Fairgrounds

Highland Street Entrance

Registered voters at affected locations were notified of the change by mail and signs will be posted at closed polling places notifying voters of where to go.

RELATED: Here’s how to prevent coronavirus, other illnesses

About the Author