DeWine announces state of emergency for roads in 63 counties

Ohio Gov. Mike DeWine declared a state of emergency Monday for 63 counties, where severe weather caused serious highway damage last month.

Butler, Clinton, Greene, Preble and Warren counties were among those included in today’s proclamation.

"Continued heavy rains on top of the saturated ground and flash flooding caused significant damage to roads all over the state," DeWine said. "This emergency proclamation will allow the Ohio Department of Transportation and local governments to access federal emergency relief funds that are needed to help fix road damage caused by these weather events."

The Governor’s Office said the 63 counties covered by the emergency declaration have suffered damage to roads and/or bridges from weather events in June that began with mild temperatures and significant rains.

Some roads still have lane restrictions or are closed completely, according to a release.

About the Author