Three local veterans among 2018 hall of fame inductees

Three local veterans are among the 2018 inductees to the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame.

The Ohio Department of Veterans Services has released its list of inductees for 2018 with an induction ceremony next week.

Local inductees include Fredric L. Abrams, Cassie B. Barlow and Fredrick L. Pumroy. All are Air Force veterans and from Greene or Warren counties.

Explore TRENDING: Report calls for faculty furloughs, no pay raises at Wright State

Barlow is the former Wright-Patterson Air Force Base commander.

The ODVS and the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame Foundation is to honor the Ohio Veterans Hall of Fame 2018 Class at its annual ceremony on Thursday, November 8, at 10 a.m. at the Radiant Life Church in Dublin, Ohio.

The 20 veterans will be honored with medals by ODVS Director Chip Tansil and Lt. Gov. Mary Taylor. The inductees will be available for media interviews on Wednesday, November 7 from 5 p.m. to 6 the Marriott Northwest in Dublin prior to the dinner.

Explore TRENDING: Ohio Politics: Everything to know today in 5 minutes

The Hall of Fame was established in 1992 by former Gov. George Voinovich. It recognizes outstanding professional achievement, service to the community and selfless acts of vets, according to a release.

Charter members of the Hall’s Class of 1992 included six Ohio military vets who were elected President of the United States and all Medal of Honor recipients from Ohio.

The honorees have included astronauts, volunteers, community leaders, safety officers, veteran advocates and former government officials.

Explore TRENDING: Here’s what the governor candidates say about raising the minimum wage

This year’s class was chosen from 119 nominations that ranged from age 37 to 88. They are from 13 different Ohio counties and four major branches of the United States Armed Forces— Army, Air Force, Navy and Marines.

The class joins 858 prior veterans who have been inducted and who represent all eras, branches and walks of life.

For a full list of this year's inductees and past inductees, visit

About the Author