Amari Davis (with ball) signed with Wisconsin-Green Bay. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

All-Area boys high school basketball teams

Samari Curtis (Xenia), Amari Davis (Trotwood-Madison), Jacob Gudorf (Brookville) and Ethan Conley (Franklin Monroe) are the Cox Media Group Ohio All-Area boys high school basketball players of the year.

The All-Area coaches of the year are Brook Cupps (Centerville), Rocky Rockhold (Trotwood-Madison), Felix Turner (Stivers) and Brad Newsome (Legacy Christian).

»» RELATED: All-Area girls basketball teams

Curtis, a 6-foot-4 senior, was a slam dunk as the Division I player of the year. Also named Ohio’s Mr. Basketball, he led the Greater Western Ohio Conference in scoring (34.4) for the third straight year. He signed with the University of Cincinnati.

Davis, a 6-4 senior lefty, averaged 30.1 points and is the D-II player of the year. A rare four-year Rams starter, he led Trotwood to its third straight state final four appearance and its first state championship. He signed with Wisconsin-Green Bay.

»» RELATED: 2,000 points club

Gudorf, a 6-3 senior guard, set single-season and career Brookville scoring and assists records as the D-III player of the year. The Blue Devils (21-4) won the Southwestern Buckeye League Southwestern Division title. He has not signed.

Conley, a 6-4 senior, is the D-IV player of the year. He scored a boys area high 54 points against Houston last December and averaged 27.3 points. He signed with Ashland.

Cupps is the D-I coach of the year. Centerville (22-6) tied with Springfield for the GWOC National East title. The Elks had an 18-game win streak snapped by eventual two-time state champ Cincinnati Moeller in a regional final.

»» RELATED: Trotwood wins D-II state title

Rockhold is the D-II coach of the year after riding Davis and a high-end supporting cast to the Rams’ state title. It was the second straight D-II state title appearance for Trotwood (28-2) and third consecutive state final four.

Turner is the D-III coach of the year. Stivers (20-5) tied Thurgood Marshall for the Dayton City League title. The Tigers hadn’t done that since 1954. Stivers also advanced to a regional semifinal.

Newsome is the D-IV coach of the year. Legacy Christian (20-4) won an outright Metro Buckeye Conference title after an 0-2 start.

»» FACEBOOK: For more sports you should like Marc Pendleton

The CMG Ohio girls All-Area basketball teams previously were announced.

Here’s who we think are most deserving for the 2019 All-Area boys basketball teams. Selections were based on coaches’ nominations and chosen by Cox Media Group Ohio.

»» TWITTER: You should like @MarcPendleton

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.