K99.1FM’s Nancy Wilson wins national award


K99.1FM's very own Nancy Wilson was announced as one of the winners of a Gracie Award in the local radio category. The Gracie Awards are presented annually by The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (AWMF). The list of honorees included such nationally known personalities as Amy Poehler, Natasha Lyonne, Tamron Hall, Naomi Watts, Norah O'Donnell along with 100 others.

The Gracies recognize exemplary programming created by, for, and about women in radio, television, and interactive media. Honorees are selected in national, local and student markets, including both commercial and non-commercial outlets. This year’s honorees represent the substance and ethos of women’s storytelling and journalism at its best. Their work during this global state of affairs – full of innovation, courage, and endurance – serves as inspiration today for the journalists of tomorrow.

“Nancy defines what’s right in the media industry. She cares most about the community through charity efforts, helping people anyway she can and entertains the market hosting the top morning show in the region. She literally does hundreds of charitable appearances every year donating countless hours of work. She’s never turned any organization down that’s asked for her help. This isn’t just for the past couple of years, this has been consistent for decades.” said Nick Roberts, an executive at the radio station.

Some of the honorees have recorded special messages of thanks and appreciation:

Becky Brooks, Executive Director, The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation stated, “Our leadership is proud to honor the best of the best who embody the spirit and intention of the Alliance for Women in Media Foundation’s Gracie Awards. We want to thank those on the front lines telling the important stories still impacting our world. It is our distinguished honor to recognize the reporters, hosts, producers, and media executives who are working to ensure the public is informed. We know everyone in media has been impacted in some way, and we continue to salute this outstanding list of honorees for their award-winning passion, energy, and perseverance.”

About the Author