Northmont seniors Jestin Jacobs (Iowa) and Gabe Newburg (Michigan) address the Thunderbolts and their verbal commitments during preseason practice on Friday, Aug. 5, 2018. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

All-Area football teams honor players, coaches

Twenty-four area players and coaches received top honors for the Cox Media Group Ohio All-Area high school football teams.

The teams were selected based on coaches’ nominations and mainly targeted toward the Dayton Daily News and Springfield New-Sun circulation areas.

»» RELATED: Divisions IV-V All-Area football

»» RELATED: Fort Loramie rallies around new coach

Northmont (10-2) was the area’s Division I power rankings winner. The Thunderbolts landed co-offensive player of the year and senior quarterback Miles Johnson, co-defensive players of the year Jestin Jacobs and Gabe Newburg and co-coach of the year Tony Broering.

Fairmont’s Jesse Deglow (rear) ran for five touchdowns. Wayne defeated visiting Fairmont 49-44 in a Week 8 high school football game on Friday, oct. 12, 2018. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

Other top D-I honors went to Fairmont running back Jesse Deglow and Springfield coach Maurice Douglass.

»» RELATED: Divisions VI-VII All-Area football

»» RELATED: Marion Local has a winning combination

In the combined Divisions II-III team, Alter senior lineman Connor Meyer was a co-defensive player of the year the Knights coach Ed Domsitz a co-coach of the year. The co-offensive players of the year were running backs Jaydon Culp-Bishop of Troy and Fenwick’s Jack Fessler. Troy lineman Sam Jackson was a co-defensive player of the year and Jeff Jenkins of Bellbrook joined Domsitz as the co-coaches of the year.

Alter senior Connor Meyer is carrying on a family tradition with the Knights. Alter prepares for Wapakoneta during a practice on Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2018. MARC PENDLETON / STAFF

Northwestern’s Shane Carter and Ryan Haines of Greeneview were the co-coaches of the year in the combined Divisions IV-V team. Co-offensive players of the year were QB Robie Glass of Springfield Shawnee and Anna running back Riley Huelskamp. The co-defensive players of the year were safety Twon Hines of Northridge and Clinton-Massie lineman Thomas Myers.

»» RELATED: It’s a first for Fort Loramie

»» RELATED: Football state semifinal pairings

The combined Divisions VI-VII team co-coaches of the year were Tim Goodwin of Marion Local and Fort Loramie’s Spencer Wells. Marion Local also landed QB Nathan Bruns as a co-offensive player of the year and linebacker Sam Huelsman as a co-defensive player of the year.

Shawnee quarterback Robie Glass avoids a tackle by Greenon’s Arlie Benson as he carries the ball for a first down during Friday’s season opener. BILL LACKEY/STAFF

St. Henry running back Zach Niekamp also was a co-offensive player of the year and linebacker Max Hoying of Fort Loramie a co-defensive player of the year.

»» RELATED: Area teams in state semifinals

»» RELATED: Quick start propels Marion Local

The Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association All-Ohio football teams will be released by the Ohio High School Athletic Association on Sunday through Wednesday, including Mr. Football.

»» PHOTOS: Marion Local vs. Coldwater, football playoffs

»» FOOTBALL PLAYOFFS: It’s Coldwater vs. Marion Local

»» RELATED: Top Southwest District honors for area players, coaches

»» RELATED: List of area seniors who signed

»» RELATED: UC lands Xenia standout

»» RELATED: Football playoffs an Alter tradition

»» RELATED: Lebanon leaving GWOC

»» PHOTOS: Northmont vs. Pickerington Central, football playoffs

»» RELATED: 7 things to know about the football playoffs

»» RELATED: Final football power rankings

»» FACEBOOK: For more sports you should like Marc Pendleton

»» TWITTER: You should like @MarcPendleton

»» FACEBOOK LIVE: Hartsock and Pendleton on football playoffs

Thank you for reading the Dayton Daily News and for supporting local journalism. Subscribers: log in for access to your daily ePaper and premium newsletters.

Thank you for supporting in-depth local journalism with your subscription to the Dayton Daily News. Get more news when you want it with email newsletters just for subscribers. Sign up here.